Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ethernet wont connect

Beans

ethernet wont connect

i am new to Ubuntu and need help, i can connect to internet with wifi adapter but ethernet cable doesnt work. result of nmcli is
    Code:
    enp2s0: connecting (getting IP configuration) to Profile 1
            "Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411"
            ethernet (r8168), F4:4D:30:AD:8B:65, hw, mtu 1500

lo: unmanaged
            "lo"
            loopback (unknown), 00:00:00:00:00:00, sw, mtu 65536

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: ethernet wont connect

a) which version and release of Ubuntu?

b) which kernel?

c) exactly which version of the NIC? Realtek has a bad habit of using the same name across 50 different hardware configs. They change the "version" of the card to denote something changed. Often, that tiny version difference is what changes the driver needed.

For example, these commands would be how I got the needed information:
    Code:
    lsb_release -a
    uname -a
    lshw -C network
    And my answers are:
    a) Description: Ubuntu 18.04.6 LTS
    b) 5.4.0-84-generic
    c)
    Code:
      *-network DISABLED        
           description: Ethernet interface
           product: RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
           physical id: 0
           bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
           logical name: eth0
           version: 0c
           serial: fc:aa:14:a7:aa:aa
           size: 10Mbit/s
           capacity: 1Gbit/s
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
           configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=r8168 driverversion=8.045.08-NAPI duplex=half latency=0 link=no multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=10Mbit/s
           resources: irq:31 ioport:e000(size=256) memory:f7b00000-f7b00fff memory:f0000000-f0003fff