Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Instability in Ubuntu 18.04

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

Instability in Ubuntu 18.04

Hi, I don't think that I'm a complete beginner any more - maybe pre-intermediate! - but I need serious advice just now.

I installed 18.04 on this dual-booting desktop a couple of months ago. I had put 20.04 on there, but was having problems getting a graphical add-on to work (Cairo Dock, to be specific), so reverted back to 18, where I knew at least that it worked. Things were mostly fine to start with, but in the last couple of weeks I've been seeing some quite frustrating behaviour. I see the "problem detected" popup quite a lot, especially just after restarting, but don't know exactly what the problem(s) is/are. I guess that I would like to know where to look in order to investigate properly myself.

It's not just minor annoyances - there's serious instability there. Quite often the screen freezes in the middle of doing things, and there's no response to mouse or keyboard, so all I can do is hit the power button. And nobody likes doing that. Other dodgy behaviour: certain apps have been failing to open sometimes - most commonly Spotify and Skype, but it also happened to Chromium for a while (in fact I've now got two instances of Chromium installed because of that, which is a bit confusing). Most disturbingly, though, I'm getting failed starts where I have to run fsck on the drive to check for errors. Thankfully I'm learning a bit from all this, and am able to get back to the login screen, but of course I don't want it to be doing that all the time (well, it's happened at least a few times already).