Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Stacer Not Working?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Lubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Stacer Not Working?

    In Stacer under Services, I chose to not allow Bluetooth to start at start up. When I check it after restarting, it is switched back to the "enabled" position.

    Why is Stacer not saving my changes?
    Last edited by wyattwhiteeagle; August 25th, 2021 at 01:26 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    U.K.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Stacer Not Working?

    In the comments at the bottom of this page
    https://www.tecmint.com/stacer-linux...nitoring-tool/
    a similar question is asked ... July 21st.

    I suspect that you are trying out Stacer is a LiveUSB and so settings do not persist after a reboot.

    Actually, this theory is confirmed in this thread.

    Stacer is intended to work in an installed, persistent OS, not a LiveUSB.

    You could create a persistent LiveUSB if that is all you have.

    As a side issue would this site help you as a temporary measure?Rollapp.com
    Last edited by dragonfly41; August 25th, 2021 at 09:15 AM. Reason: LiveUSB theory confirmed

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Lubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Stacer Not Working?

    Quote Originally Posted by dragonfly41 View Post
    In the comments at the bottom of this page
    https://www.tecmint.com/stacer-linux...nitoring-tool/
    a similar question is asked ... July 21st.

    I suspect that you are trying out Stacer is a LiveUSB and so settings do not persist after a reboot.

    Actually, this theory is confirmed in this thread.

    Stacer is intended to work in an installed, persistent OS, not a LiveUSB.

    You could create a persistent LiveUSB if that is all you have.

    As a side issue would this site help you as a temporary measure?Rollapp.com
    The thread that "confirms" this...I started that thread while I was unknowing that it is possible to install to a flashdrive.

    No, I'm not on the LiveUSB. I actually used an 8gb LiveUSB to install to a 128GB usb drive. 6.1gb of that is a swap area.
    I didn't even use MKUSB, only 8gb live and the 128gb and the "Something Else" option in the installation process.

    It isn't like being installed to an internal, but like an external.
    I'm having to use it as my main drive because my internal is dead.
    it's working fine so far.

    RollApp.com While most everybody swears up, down and all around that "the cloud"is awesome, I would never intentionally store my information in "the cloud", not even through an installed encrypting application.

    Thank you.
    Last edited by wyattwhiteeagle; August 25th, 2021 at 12:18 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    U.K.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Stacer Not Working?

    I can't read your mind so please be specific in your next post. Saves time.

    Again I can't guess what are your apps but cloud can be useful to test non sensitive apps.

    My Stacer installations run fine. Some more detective work needed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Lubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Stacer Not Working?

    Quote Originally Posted by wyattwhiteeagle View Post
    The thread that "confirms" this...I started that thread while I was unknowing that it is possible to install to a flashdrive.

    No, I'm not on the LiveUSB. I actually used an 8gb LiveUSB to install to a 128GB usb drive. 6.1gb of that is a swap area.
    I didn't even use MKUSB, only 8gb live and the 128gb and the "Something Else" option in the installation process.

    It isn't like being installed to an internal, but like an external.
    I'm having to use it as my main drive because my internal is dead.
    it's working fine so far.
    Quote Originally Posted by wyattwhiteeagle View Post
    In Stacer under Services, I chose to not allow Bluetooth to start at start up. When I check it after restarting, it is switched back to the "enabled" position.

    Why is Stacer not saving my changes?
    Quote Originally Posted by dragonfly41 View Post
    I can't read your mind so please be specific in your next post. Saves time.

    Again I can't guess what are your apps but cloud can be useful to test non sensitive apps.

    My Stacer installations run fine. Some more detective work needed.
    Please explain what you mean by non sensitive apps being different from my apps.

    Besides Stacer, I use...

    Synaptic to see broken packages...I dont use it for anything else.
    Wine-staging. Within Wine I use IMVU, IMVU Cache Cleaner, and Lightshot. Nothing else is installed in Wine.
    Google Chrome Web Browser (Linux) as my Default

    I uninstalled Thunderbird.

    In Settings before installing Stacer...

    Screen Dimming is swtched to off.
    Blank Screen...Never
    Auto-Suspend...Off
    Power Button...Nothing

    In Privacy
    ...File History & Trash
    ......File History...Off
    ......Trash & Temp Files...1 Day

    Everything else is how it was other than through Terminal "sudo apt update" and "sudo apt full-upgrade" and autoclean and autoremove.

    The only more specific I can get is hardware lists, and an installed packages list.
    Last edited by wyattwhiteeagle; August 25th, 2021 at 04:09 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Lubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Stacer Not Working?

    Quote Originally Posted by dragonfly41 View Post
    Please be specific in your next post. Saves time. Some more detective work needed.
    I tried post all installed packages but I got this message...


    Your submission could not be processed because a security token was missing.

    If this occurred unexpectedly, please inform the administrator and describe the action you performed before you received this error. If possible, please include the error page URL plus the date and time the error occured.

    Tip : Please shorten long posts by using https://paste.ubuntu.com/ for terminal and log output and link to it in your posts.

    Ubuntu Forums

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    U.K.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Stacer Not Working?

    Stacer troubleshooting. You will get more accurate replies by contacting the developer.

    Post an issue here:

    https://github.com/oguzhaninan/Stacer/issues

    However, these are the initial steps (detective work) I would follow to gather information about Stacer, rather than just reporting "it doesn't save settings".

    Q. Does Stacer retain changes to other startup settings (other than Bluetooth)?
    If Yes then there is some issue with Bluetooth.
    If No then there is some issue with Stacer.

    And regarding this

    Please explain what you mean by non sensitive apps being different from my apps.
    I simply refer to apps such as games which I would regard as "non sensitive".

    Certainly no personal information is safe in the cloud.

    ====================================

    [P.S.] It might be easier to just follow the advice here.

    https://askubuntu.com/questions/6775...system-startup

    Change setting manually in /etc/bluetooth/main.conf

    Last edited by dragonfly41; August 25th, 2021 at 07:47 PM. Reason: Bluetooth main.conf

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •