Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Keyboard problem

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Keyboard problem

I can’t decide whether this is a hardware or software problem:

I am typing an email (Thunderbird) or a document (Libreoffice) and randomly, after a few minutes or a few hours, the Shift key sticks on and I find myself typing in upper case. If I hit the Shift key, it will revert to lower case either immediately or after several attempts. A simple case of a stuck key? No, I have tried three keyboards with no change. I have tried different USB ports and have checked the motherboard voltages in BIOS.

All other keys seem to work normally.

Restarting the computer always fixes the problem, for a few minutes or a few hours. As an electronics engineer I am used to dealing with hardware issues but this doesn’t feel like one.

Anybody got any bright ideas?

Ubuntu 21.04
    Gigabyte B360M-HD3

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Re: Keyboard problem

Well I agree with you that it doesn't feel like a hardware problem, it feels even less likely a software one. Are you by chance using any USB hub on the machine at all? Do you have the capability to actually measure the voltage of the 5 volt line? A meter that will give (and store) your minimum voltage would be helpful. Try running the PC without ANYTHING else connected to any port. Does that help?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Thanks for your advice. No USB hub. It is a pity that lm-sensors doesn't support the sensing chip on my motherboard but I now have a DMM sitting on the adjacent USB port, 5.06V at present. When the problem occurs I can check the voltage again.

I have no other USB devices connected apart from the mouse, which I have changed. I do have an RJ45 LAN connector, an HDMI monitor connector and an analogue audio connector. I can't see what effect they may have on my problem?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa