Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 20.04.2 LTS network problem - no internet - but Network status shows connection

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Beans
    25

    20.04.2 LTS network problem - no internet - but Network status shows connection

    Hello -
    I currently have no Internet access via cable or wifi - yet the Network Setting shows a cable connection with 100/mbs. The last day I had access was Aug. 10th.

    I'm using a dual-boot Lenovo Flex 3 with Windows 10 Home and Ubuntu 20.04.2 LTS. No issues loading either system. Full Internet access on the Windows side.

    Now for some background:
    Aug. 10 - Internet access on both sides (sent email from Ubuntu/Thunderbird)
    Aug. 11 - big update from Windows (did not perform the optional version update to 21H1) - I didn't see an update for the Intel network card
    Aug. 11 to present - no Internet access when logged in to Ubuntu, good access when logged into Windows
    Aug. 14 - Windows optional update to version 21H1 - no change in Ubuntu connectivity.Attachment 288992Attachment 288992

    I noticed this oddity when I first experienced no Internet access in Ubuntu:
    the Network Connection icon at the top-right of the desktop displayed as connected, even when I had turned off my router/ISP connection (and no connection would be possible).

    I've tried to run the script posted in the Sticky Note at the top of the Networking and Wireless forum. I cannot get it to run and generate the output file. Error message in Terminal says something like 'the child process cannot run because (script filename) does not exist'.

    I have SYSLOG histories from different dates, in case there is a notable difference (error?) between the logs of Aug 10 or older vs. the logs of Aug. 11 or newer. They are too large to upload as either .txt or .pdf files. I could copy and paste them into further posts if someone wants to read them. The smallest file is 358 lines, the largest it 10,500+ lines in a text editor.

    I'm thinking the Windows update changed a setting on the Intel network card, but don't have the knowledge/skill to figure it out. Thanks for any advice or help which you can send my way.
    Last edited by ewog; August 23rd, 2021 at 06:39 PM. Reason: added tags

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: 20.04.2 LTS network problem - no internet - but Network status shows connection

    Basic network troubleshooting: https://blog.jdpfu.com/2013/03/01/li...101-networking
    Run those commands, in order, so we know the issues. Please capture the output to files, then copy/paste the TEXT into a post here and wrap it in code tags. Https://ubuntuforums.org/misc.php?do=bbcode#code for how to use code tags. No images, please.

    Good luck. If you don't know how to use redirection to get the command output into files, ASK! There's no need to copy-by-typing the output.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Beans
    25

    Re: 20.04.2 LTS network problem - no internet - but Network status shows connection

    Thanks for the help in getting the correct commands, though as you will see, not all of them worked. I hope I've used the code tags correctly. Here are the results of all the commands, in order:

    Code:
    #ktm@LittleMan:~$ ip address
    1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
        link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
        inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
        inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    2: enp3s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP group default qlen 1000
        link/ether 54:ee:75:70:22:71 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
        inet 192.168.1.3/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global dynamic noprefixroute enp3s0
           valid_lft 86389sec preferred_lft 86389sec
        inet6 fe80::de54:b90d:d457:70f6/64 scope link noprefixroute 
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    3: wlp2s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 1000
        link/ether dc:53:60:36:05:ce brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    4: pvpnroutintrf0: <BROADCAST,NOARP,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
        link/ether 02:4b:5c:10:e2:5b brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
        inet 100.85.0.1/24 brd 100.85.0.255 scope global noprefixroute pvpnroutintrf0
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
        inet6 fdeb:446c:912d:8da::/64 scope global noprefixroute 
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
        inet6 fe80::23e1:5d0b:452d:e97a/64 scope link noprefixroute 
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    5: pvpnksintrf0: <BROADCAST,NOARP,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
        link/ether 1a:40:04:bc:97:bd brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
        inet 100.85.0.1/24 brd 100.85.0.255 scope global noprefixroute pvpnksintrf0
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
        inet6 fdeb:446c:912d:8da::/64 scope global noprefixroute 
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
        inet6 fe80::4f85:452e:ab68:db20/64 scope link noprefixroute 
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    6: ipv6leakintrf0: <BROADCAST,NOARP,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
        link/ether fe:cc:08:4b:ab:fa brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
        inet6 fdeb:446c:912d:8da::/64 scope global noprefixroute 
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
        inet6 fe80::e044:dd35:a4ac:a743/64 scope link noprefixroute 
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ route -n
    
    Command 'route' not found, but can be installed with:
    
    sudo apt install net-tools
    
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ router -n
    
    Command 'router' not found, did you mean:
    
      command 'rotter' from deb rotter (0.9-3build2)
      command 'routef' from deb iproute2 (5.5.0-1ubuntu1)
      command 'qrouter' from deb qrouter (1.4.71-1)
      command 'routel' from deb iproute2 (5.5.0-1ubuntu1)
      command 'route' from deb net-tools (1.60+git20180626.aebd88e-1ubuntu1)
    
    Try: sudo apt install <deb name>
    
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ routf -n
    
    Command 'routf' not found, did you mean:
    
      command 'routef' from deb iproute2 (5.5.0-1ubuntu1)
      command 'route' from deb net-tools (1.60+git20180626.aebd88e-1ubuntu1)
    
    Try: sudo apt install <deb name>
    
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ qrouter -n
    
    Command 'qrouter' not found, but can be installed with:
    
    sudo apt install qrouter
    
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ routel -n
             target            gateway          source    proto    scope    dev tbl
    Error: argument "-n" is wrong: table id value is invalid
    
    
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ ping 192.168.1.3
    PING 192.168.1.3 (192.168.1.3) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.3: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.031 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.3: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.052 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.3: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.049 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.3: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.049 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.3: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.048 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.3: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=0.048 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.3: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=0.048 ms
    then it just kept adding another line and never stopped, and I had to close Terminal to do the next command.
    
    
    
    
    
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ ping 8.8.8.8
    PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
    returned only this line, but then never returned to a Terminal prompt "ktm@LittleMan:~$", and I had to close Terminal to do the next command.
    
    
    
    
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ ping google.com
    ping: google.com: Temporary failure in name resolution
    ktm@LittleMan:~$
    
    
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ dmesg |grep eth[0-9]
    [    1.318642] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: RTL8168h/8111h, 54:ee:75:70:22:71, XID 541, IRQ 125
    [    1.318644] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: jumbo features [frames: 9200 bytes, tx checksumming: ko]
    [    1.343820] r8169 0000:03:00.0 enp3s0: renamed from eth0
    
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ sudo 1shw -C network
    [sudo] password for ktm: 
    sudo: 1shw: command not found
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ ifconfig -a
    
    Command 'ifconfig' not found, but can be installed with:
    
    sudo apt install net-tools
    
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ more /etc/resolv.conf
    # This file is managed by man:systemd-resolved(8). Do not edit.
    #
    # This is a dynamic resolv.conf file for connecting local clients to the
    # internal DNS stub resolver of systemd-resolved. This file lists all
    # configured search domains.
    #
    # Run "resolvectl status" to see details about the uplink DNS servers
    # currently in use.
    #
    # Third party programs must not access this file directly, but only through the
    # symlink at /etc/resolv.conf. To manage man:resolv.conf(5) in a different way,
    # replace this symlink by a static file or a different symlink.
    #
    # See man:systemd-resolved.service(8) for details about the supported modes of
    # operation for /etc/resolv.conf.
    
    nameserver 127.0.0.53
    options edns0 trust-ad
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ route
    
    Command 'route' not found, but can be installed with:
    
    sudo apt install net-tools
    
    ktm@LittleMan:~$ dmesg |grep wlp2s0
    [   22.140482] iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0 wlp2s0: renamed from wlan0
    ktm@LittleMan:~$#

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: 20.04.2 LTS network problem - no internet - but Network status shows connection

    Looks like you are trying to use a VPN. Don't. Disable that first to get everything working.

    Code:
    ip route | column -t
    is the new command for route -n

    lshw .... as ls, not 1s.
    Code:
    inxi -Nnxz
    can work too.

    If you didn't preinstall those tools, they aren't there by default.
    Disable the VPN to install them.

    Also, someone setup jumbo frames on the realtek NIC. If the network gear there doesn't support jumbo frames or supports even slightly smaller frames than being used .... like a VPN would screw up, then it wouldn't work. Disable jumbo frames if you want to use the VPN. But first things first. Get normal networking working first
    • without jumbo frames
    • without a vpn

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Beans
    25

    Re: 20.04.2 LTS network problem - no internet - but Network status shows connection

    Howdy, The Fu -

    Thanks for the help with this problem. I also found some help on the ProtonVPN website, and the issue ended up being the ProtonVPN killswitch. Once I deleted those 'connections', then my Internet access was fully restored. I'm pasting in the code which I used to uninstall ProtonVPN and the killswitches, in case someone else has this problem.

    Code:
     ktm@LittleMan:~$ protonvpn configure    (I ran this to see if any parts of the old version of ProtonVPN were still installed)
     ktm@LittleMan:~$ sudo pip3 uninstall protonvpn-cli   (this was the command to remove the old version - ran it just to ensure I had removed all parts)
     ktm@LittleMan:~$ sudo apt-get autoremove protnvpn   (this removed the new/desktop version)
     ktm@LittleMan:~$ rm -rf ~/.cache/protonvpn    (cleaned up desktop version removal)
     ktm@LittleMan:~$ rm -rf ~/.config/protonvpn    (cleaned up desktop version removal)
     ktm@LittleMan:~$ nmcli connection show --active
     ktm@LittleMan:~$ nmcli connection delete pvpn-killswitch
     ktm@LittleMan:~$ nmcli connection delete pvpn-ipv6leak-protection
     ktm@LittleMan:~$ nmcli connection delete pvpn-routed-killswitch
     ktm@LittleMan:~$ exit
    The only mystery is why I lost Internet access in the first place. I had been using the old ProtonVPN service for a couple years without a hitch (launched from Terminal), then successfully uninstalled it and then installed the new desktop version (with GUI) which I had been using for almost 2 months without a glitch. The problem showed up right after the big Windows 10 update, but I can't see how that would impact the Ubuntu side. Oh well, all is back to normal. Thanks again!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Beans
    43

    Re: 20.04.2 LTS network problem - no internet - but Network status shows connection

    ewog, thanks so much for this post. Been pulling my hair out trying to get internet working after uninstalling protonvpn and didn't realize there was residual cleanup to do.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Beans
    25

    Re: 20.04.2 LTS network problem - no internet - but Network status shows connection

    Townhill -
    Glad it helped you! Just added ProtonVPN to the tags for this. Still haven't figured out what triggered the Killswitch, but will let that remain a mystery.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •