Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thunderbird Search

Beans

Thunderbird Search

Hi Everyone

I am new to Thunderbird and Mint Linux as my daily driver. After many issues with Outlook and Windows I decided to make the shift to Linux and Thunderbird. I really appreciate everyone's help in getting this working.

In the past with outlook, I am able to sort the INBOX using the FROM person filed and click on a message and type using the keyboard letters that correspond to the persons name and it would then go directly to a list of emails from that person. IE:

Tim Smith
    Tim Smith
    Tim Smith

Keyboard Strokes Entered: Tim

It would then go to all of the emails from Tim Smith that are located in the INBOX.

This was an easy way to find emails from people that said. Did you get this email. Or I sent you an email can you help me etc.

I have tried this many times and does not seem to work. I have also downloaded many search add ins that looked like it might work and have yet to be able to get this functionality working.

If anyone knows how i can get this to work or has a similar work around please let me know.

Thank you
    Michael

Beans

Re: Thunderbird Search

i don't use thunderbird so can't help there ,don't know how it search work but i can imagine the mainstream linux email client would have that sorted.
    anyway ,i use mailspring ,and don't have any troubles searching / finding emails.
    just a thought, might want to look into it . or not .

Beans

Thank you - I looked into Mindspring and it does not support Microsoft Exchange. do you know if there is an add on or way for it to support Exchange accounts.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

I use thunderbird. It has Quick Filters and a Full deep search.