Thread: Firewall adjustments GUF -GUFW

Beans

Firewall adjustments GUF -GUFW

Hi out there

I'm trying to configure my GUFW.

Well, for now I understood, that it is good to set profile's options to Incoming/Outcoming= deny and then set up specific rules for each application.

I do not really understand how the ports are working... In the forum, I red that each application runs in its own port. I used: $ sudo nmap -p 1-65535 -sT localhost and result is:

Starting Nmap 7.80 ( https://nmap.org ) at 2021-08-08 13:11 CEST
    Nmap scan report for localhost (127.0.0.1)
    Host is up (0.00014s latency).
    Not shown: 65532 closed ports
    PORT STATE SERVICE
    631/tcp open ipp
    7793/tcp open unknown
    9050/tcp open tor-socks

seems that those are the only used ports?!

On which ports will I configure then firefox and thunderbird (and other apps which should get access to the internet) ? I do not have Tor installed, so it makes me wonder why it shows me this port...

I'm new to Linux and really interested on understanding more on how to work with this system. So if anybody has the mood to explain me a bit around that topic, would be great.

Thanks and Cheers
    Steve

Beans

Re: Firewall adjustments GUF -GUFW

Ah, and I used: sudo ss -lntup

which gives quite some qbittorrent ... which I've never used and most likely will not use.
    And there is the avahi- daemon, of which I do not really understand what for it is.

Any help highly welcome

Beans

Running nmap against localhost is pointless, because ufw (and any sane firewall application) always allows the host to talk to itself.
    sudo ss -lntup will tell you what processes are listening on what sockets - this may be what you need to know.

I would advise that you allow all outgoing connections. This will allow browsers etc. to work as they should, making outgoing connections to anywhere on the internet.