Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Installing Drivers for Brother MFC

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    1,031

    Re: Installing Drivers for Brother MFC

    I would appreciate help in getting the scanner to work. The scanner is detected.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    1,031

    Re: Installing Drivers for Brother MFC

    The scanner is now working. Thanks to all that gave me the confidence to persevere.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Promiseland
    Beans
    1,197
    Distro
    Xubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Installing Drivers for Brother MFC

    How about the fax capability? Do you have that working? Unless you don't have a landline.
    Cheers,


    The Linux Command Line at http://linuxcommand.org/

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    1,031

    Re: Installing Drivers for Brother MFC

    Quote Originally Posted by him610 View Post
    How about the fax capability? Do you have that working? Unless you don't have a landline.
    Years ago I used the machine only to send and receive faxes. As of late, I don't have much use for the fax capacity. I had had a compact HP laser printer on my desk with a dedicated scanner. The printer is no longer functioning. This machine is a temporary replacement until I buy another laser printer. Also, I could never get the Epson scanner to work with Ubuntu 20.04. A forum member even gave me instructions on the phone. He also gave up. To use it, I have to go to Windows.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    1,031

    Re: Installing Drivers for Brother MFC

    I'm Back!
    I just noticed PC fax that was automatically installed in windows. I would like to install it in Linux. If I can do so, I will get rid of windows. Since I have the printer and scanner working, I don't want to chance ruining what I have because of a paucity of knowledge. Assistance will be appreciated.
    https://support.brother.com/g/b/faqe...aq00100716_000

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Beans
    43

    Re: Installing Drivers for Brother MFC

    Quote Originally Posted by daniell59 View Post
    I'm Back!
    I just noticed PC fax that was automatically installed in windows. I would like to install it in Linux. If I can do so, I will get rid of windows. Since I have the printer and scanner working, I don't want to chance ruining what I have because of a paucity of knowledge. Assistance will be appreciated.
    https://support.brother.com/g/b/faqe...aq00100716_000
    If it works, you could always install Windows in a Virtual Machine in your Ubuntu partition. E.g. Virtual Box, then install Windows as a client and install your printer software there just in case, the Linux version stops working for some reason.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    1,031

    Re: Installing Drivers for Brother MFC

    Quote Originally Posted by linuux View Post
    If it works, you could always install Windows in a Virtual Machine in your Ubuntu partition. E.g. Virtual Box, then install Windows as a client and install your printer software there just in case, the Linux version stops working for some reason.
    I did not install the Linux version. I would have a problem with virtual machine. My computer is old and has limited resources. 4 GIG of RAM. I am waiting for the Ryzen 5000G series to hit the retail market. I may then build a new machine.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Beans
    43

    Re: Installing Drivers for Brother MFC

    Quote Originally Posted by daniell59 View Post
    I did not install the Linux version. I would have a problem with virtual machine. My computer is old and has limited resources. 4 GIG of RAM. I am waiting for the Ryzen 5000G series to hit the retail market. I may then build a new machine.
    Oh right.... yes, can be a problem.

    I am hoping to get a Ryzen system, too...although, I will see what Intel is also offering at the time I can shop around.

    I don't think you need to dedicate much RAM to Windows, however, if you only use it for printing but 4GB is pretty low for that. I only have 8gb total. I was thinking of upgrading it to 16gb eventually but my current machine is getting pretty old. We'll see...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •