Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Unable to use AMD hardware-accelerated graphics on Kubuntu 20.04.2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Beans
    7

    Angry Unable to use AMD hardware-accelerated graphics on Kubuntu 20.04.2

    Didn't realise there was a dedicated hardware subforum, thread is now there: https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread....237&p=14045827 Can't figure out how to delete this thread though, sorry everyone.

    Hi,

    This has actually been a problem that has been following me for a while and made me switch away from Arch Linux, so that's always fun. I want to be able to use the hardware-accelerated graphics drivers for my AMD Radeon RX 570, but have been unable to do so. When I install them, I get the warning
    Code:
    WARNING: nomodeset detected in kernel parameters, amdgpu requires KMS
    The problem is that when I remove nomodeset and update GRUB and all that good stuff, upon next boot I just receive a black screen. The monitor shuts off because it's not receiving a signal, and I am thus forced to add nomodeset back into the kernel parameters. But then
    Code:
    lshw -c video
    doesn't show amdgpu as the graphics driver, nothing of the sort.

    Honestly, my real problem is that I have to use nomodeset to boot successfully but when I do I can't use the drivers properly. It is... deeply irritating, and any help would be greatly appreciated. Honestly starting to think this might be a kernel bug but I don't want to be too hasty.

    Thanks!
    Last edited by Tamara_Macadam; June 27th, 2021 at 09:28 AM. Reason: i made a silly

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Beans
    7

    Re: Unable to use AMD hardware-accelerated graphics on Kubuntu 20.04.2

    Update: I tried adding amdgpu.dpm=0 to the kernel parameters, but that didn't change anything.

    Here's the results for when I do sudo dmesg | grep amdgpu, when nomodeset is not enabled:

    Code:
    [    0.808430] [drm] amdgpu kernel modesetting enabled. 
    [    0.808504] amdgpu: Ignoring ACPI CRAT on non-APU system 
    [    0.808515] amdgpu: Topology: Add CPU node 
    [    0.808577] fb0: switching to amdgpudrmfb from EFI VGA 
    [    0.808622] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: vgaarb: deactivate vga console 
    [    0.808720] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: Trusted Memory Zone (TMZ) feature not supported 
    [    0.808910] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: No more image in the PCI ROM 
    [    0.808930] amdgpu: ATOM BIOS: xxx-xxx-xxx 
    [    0.808994] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: VRAM: 4096M 0x000000F400000000 - 0x000000F4FFFFFFFF (4096M used) 
    [    0.808995] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: GART: 256M 0x000000FF00000000 - 0x000000FF0FFFFFFF 
    [    0.809147] [drm] amdgpu: 4096M of VRAM memory ready 
    [    0.809151] [drm] amdgpu: 4096M of GTT memory ready. 
    [    0.812181] amdgpu: hwmgr_sw_init smu backed is polaris10_smu 
    [    1.017188] amdgpu: Topology: Add dGPU node [0x67df:0x1002] 
    [    1.017192] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: SE 4, SH per SE 1, CU per SH 9, active_cu_number 32 
    [    1.017225] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: [drm] Cannot find any crtc or sizes 
    [    1.021196] [drm] Initialized amdgpu 3.38.0 20150101 for 0000:08:00.0 on minor 0 
    [    4.901386] snd_hda_intel 0000:08:00.1: bound 0000:08:00.0 (ops amdgpu_dm_audio_component_bind_ops [amdgpu]) 
    [   12.584881] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: [drm] Cannot find any crtc or sizes
    
    And this is lshw -c video:

    Code:
      *-display                  
           description: VGA compatible controller 
           product: Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590] 
           vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] 
           physical id: 0 
           bus info: pci@0000:08:00.0 
           version: ef 
           width: 64 bits 
           clock: 33MHz 
           capabilities: pm pciexpress msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom 
           configuration: driver=amdgpu latency=0 
           resources: irq:63 memory:e0000000-efffffff memory:f0000000-f01fffff ioport:f000(size=256) memory:fcf00000-fcf3ffff memory:c0000-dffff
    
    Here's what happens with dmesg when nomodeset is enabled:

    Code:
    [    0.811873] [drm:amdgpu_init [amdgpu]] *ERROR* VGACON disables amdgpu kernel modesetting. 
    [    4.739501] [drm:amdgpu_init [amdgpu]] *ERROR* VGACON disables amdgpu kernel modesetting.
    
    Aaaand lshw -c video:

    Code:
      *-display UNCLAIMED        
           description: VGA compatible controller 
           product: Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590] 
           vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] 
           physical id: 0 
           bus info: pci@0000:08:00.0 
           version: ef 
           width: 64 bits 
           clock: 33MHz 
           capabilities: pm pciexpress msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list 
           configuration: latency=0 
           resources: memory:e0000000-efffffff memory:f0000000-f01fffff ioport:f000(size=256) memory:fcf00000-fcf3ffff memory:c0000-dffff
    
    Incidentally, when amdgpu.dpm=0 was in the kernel parameters, the display was getting a signal, but it was still completely black. When that wasn't there, the display wasn't receiving any signal at all.

    Once again, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Beans
    7

    Unable to use AMD hardware-accelerated graphics on Kubuntu 20.04.2

    Didn't realise there was a hardware subforum, oops.

    This has actually been a problem that has been following me for a while and made me switch away from Arch Linux, so that's always fun. I want to be able to use the hardware-accelerated graphics drivers for my AMD Radeon RX 570, but have been unable to do so. When I install them, I get the warning
    Code:
    WARNING: nomodeset detected in kernel parameters,  amdgpu requires KMS
    The problem is that when I remove nomodeset and update GRUB and all that good stuff, upon next boot I just receive a black screen. The monitor shuts off because it's not receiving a signal, and I am thus forced to add nomodeset back into the kernel parameters. I tried adding amdgpu.dpm=0 to the kernel parameters, but that didn't change anything.

    Here's the results for when I do sudo dmesg | grep amdgpu, when nomodeset is not enabled:

    Code:
    [    0.808430] [drm] amdgpu kernel modesetting enabled. 
    [    0.808504] amdgpu: Ignoring ACPI CRAT on non-APU system 
    [    0.808515] amdgpu: Topology: Add CPU node 
    [    0.808577] fb0: switching to amdgpudrmfb from EFI VGA 
    [    0.808622] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: vgaarb: deactivate vga console 
    [    0.808720] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: Trusted Memory Zone (TMZ) feature not supported 
    [    0.808910] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: No more image in the PCI ROM 
    [    0.808930] amdgpu: ATOM BIOS: xxx-xxx-xxx 
    [    0.808994] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: VRAM: 4096M 0x000000F400000000 - 0x000000F4FFFFFFFF (4096M used) 
    [    0.808995] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: GART: 256M 0x000000FF00000000 - 0x000000FF0FFFFFFF 
    [    0.809147] [drm] amdgpu: 4096M of VRAM memory ready 
    [    0.809151] [drm] amdgpu: 4096M of GTT memory ready. 
    [    0.812181] amdgpu: hwmgr_sw_init smu backed is polaris10_smu 
    [    1.017188] amdgpu: Topology: Add dGPU node [0x67df:0x1002] 
    [    1.017192] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: amdgpu: SE 4, SH per SE 1, CU per SH 9, active_cu_number 32 
    [    1.017225] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: [drm] Cannot find any crtc or sizes 
    [    1.021196] [drm] Initialized amdgpu 3.38.0 20150101 for 0000:08:00.0 on minor 0 
    [    4.901386] snd_hda_intel 0000:08:00.1: bound 0000:08:00.0 (ops amdgpu_dm_audio_component_bind_ops [amdgpu]) 
    [   12.584881] amdgpu 0000:08:00.0: [drm] Cannot find any crtc or sizes
    
    And this is lshw -c video:

    Code:
      *-display                  
           description: VGA compatible controller 
           product: Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590] 
           vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] 
           physical id: 0 
           bus info: pci@0000:08:00.0 
           version: ef 
           width: 64 bits 
           clock: 33MHz 
           capabilities: pm pciexpress msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom 
           configuration: driver=amdgpu latency=0 
           resources: irq:63 memory:e0000000-efffffff  memory:f0000000-f01fffff ioport:f000(size=256) memory:fcf00000-fcf3ffff  memory:c0000-dffff
    
    Here's what happens with dmesg when nomodeset is enabled:

    Code:
    [    0.811873] [drm:amdgpu_init [amdgpu]] *ERROR* VGACON disables amdgpu kernel modesetting. 
    [    4.739501] [drm:amdgpu_init [amdgpu]] *ERROR* VGACON disables amdgpu kernel modesetting.
    
    Aaaand lshw -c video:

    Code:
      *-display UNCLAIMED        
           description: VGA compatible controller 
           product: Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590] 
           vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] 
           physical id: 0 
           bus info: pci@0000:08:00.0 
           version: ef 
           width: 64 bits 
           clock: 33MHz 
           capabilities: pm pciexpress msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list 
           configuration: latency=0 
           resources: memory:e0000000-efffffff memory:f0000000-f01fffff  ioport:f000(size=256) memory:fcf00000-fcf3ffff memory:c0000-dffff
    
    Incidentally, when amdgpu.dpm=0 was in the kernel parameters, the display was getting a signal, but it was still completely black. When that wasn't there, the display wasn't receiving any signal at all.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Unable to use AMD hardware-accelerated graphics on Kubuntu 20.04.2

    Threads merged.

    Please do not start duplicate threads. If you would like to have a thread moved, please use the "report post" button and leave a message for the Staff indicating that you would like the thread moved. We will decide if that is appropriate.
    Please read The Forum Rules and The Forum Posting Guidelines

    A thing discovered and kept to oneself must be discovered time and again by others. A thing discovered and shared with others need be discovered only the once.
    This universe is crazy. I'm going back to my own.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,494

    Re: Unable to use AMD hardware-accelerated graphics on Kubuntu 20.04.2


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Beans
    44

    Re: Unable to use AMD hardware-accelerated graphics on Kubuntu 20.04.2

    I want to upgrade my Dell Optiplex to a discrete graphics card and one card I am considering is an RX 550, 4gb.

    I would like to help you but obviously, I don't have similar hardware yet. I do believe that this is an isolated case because lots of people have RX 550, 560, 570, 580 cards and use Linux, including Ubuntu. Why you are having that problem, I have no clue. However, my suggestion is to add more info in case someone here reads your post and notices something that offers a clue.

    You might offer details on your hardware - cpu, memory, cable connection - is this using hdmi to hdmi or what? The problem of the black screen happens. I tested my Ubuntu iso on my usb flash drive at a friend's - who has an nvidia card. I did get it to work but I used safe graphics mode.

    AMD uses open source drivers - 'amdgpu' and you shouldn't need nomodeset. I would try other things and take that out of the kernel parameters. Can you use an hdmi to hdmi cable connection? Is it hdmi 2.0? Amdgpu uses/requires kms and it's disabled if you use nomodeset, hence the message.

    P.S. do you get the same result if you try an Ubuntu 20.04 iso (run it at defaults and if it goes to black screen, choose safe graphics mode)? Try that and see what happens. You shouldn't have to 'install' anything - if you use open source amdgpu drivers, it should just boot up and run.
    Last edited by linuux; June 28th, 2021 at 12:25 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Beans
    7

    Re: Unable to use AMD hardware-accelerated graphics on Kubuntu 20.04.2

    Quote Originally Posted by linuux View Post
    I want to upgrade my Dell Optiplex to a discrete graphics card and one card I am considering is an RX 550, 4gb.

    I would like to help you but obviously, I don't have similar hardware yet. I do believe that this is an isolated case because lots of people have RX 550, 560, 570, 580 cards and use Linux, including Ubuntu. Why you are having that problem, I have no clue. However, my suggestion is to add more info in case someone here reads your post and notices something that offers a clue.

    You might offer details on your hardware - cpu, memory, cable connection - is this using hdmi to hdmi or what? The problem of the black screen happens. I tested my Ubuntu iso on my usb flash drive at a friend's - who has an nvidia card. I did get it to work but I used safe graphics mode.

    AMD uses open source drivers - 'amdgpu' and you shouldn't need nomodeset. I would try other things and take that out of the kernel parameters. Can you use an hdmi to hdmi cable connection? Is it hdmi 2.0? Amdgpu uses/requires kms and it's disabled if you use nomodeset, hence the message.

    P.S. do you get the same result if you try an Ubuntu 20.04 iso (run it at defaults and if it goes to black screen, choose safe graphics mode)? Try that and see what happens. You shouldn't have to 'install' anything - if you use open source amdgpu drivers, it should just boot up and run.
    I'm using an HDMI to HDMI connection, my monitor only supports HDMI. The CPU is an AMD Ryzen 5 2600, 16GB of memory, Asus Prime B450-Plus motherboard.

    The problem is that I can't boot up without nomodeset, so I'm unable to use amdgpu. The only way for me to boot is without graphics drivers. I'm not sure if it's HDMI 2.0 or not, but it seems likely.

    If I boot from an ISO, I get the black screen unless I use safe graphics... which enables nomodeset, thus disabling amdgpu.

    EDIT: A thought occurs. On Arch Linux, the problem didn't occur until I upgraded to the 5.12 kernel. Kubuntu 20.04.2 is using 5.8, and yet I'm having the same problem despite it working fine on 5.8 under Arch.

    Could this be a hardware fault? I'm not sure how I'd check, is the thing, since I don't really have a spare Radeon RX 570 or a spare PC just lying about.
    Last edited by Tamara_Macadam; June 28th, 2021 at 03:05 AM. Reason: a thought! :o

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Beans
    44

    Re: Unable to use AMD hardware-accelerated graphics on Kubuntu 20.04.2

    Quote Originally Posted by Tamara_Macadam View Post
    I'm using an HDMI to HDMI connection, my monitor only supports HDMI. The CPU is an AMD Ryzen 5 2600, 16GB of memory, Asus Prime B450-Plus motherboard.

    The problem is that I can't boot up without nomodeset, so I'm unable to use amdgpu. The only way for me to boot is without graphics drivers. I'm not sure if it's HDMI 2.0 or not, but it seems likely.

    If I boot from an ISO, I get the black screen unless I use safe graphics... which enables nomodeset, thus disabling amdgpu.

    EDIT: A thought occurs. On Arch Linux, the problem didn't occur until I upgraded to the 5.12 kernel. Kubuntu 20.04.2 is using 5.8, and yet I'm having the same problem despite it working fine on 5.8 under Arch.

    Could this be a hardware fault? I'm not sure how I'd check, is the thing, since I don't really have a spare Radeon RX 570 or a spare PC just lying about.
    If you use nomodeset, then your computer will boot with a working screen? If so, then it's probably not hardware? Do you use Windows? Does this same computer work fine in Windows?

    I would try a 20.10 iso and 21.04 iso to see if the same result happens.

    As I said, I tested on a 21.04 iso and the hardware was similar to yours - Ryzen 2600x, 32gb RAM, Rx 570 (not sure which brand, or how many gb - I can find out, but I don't think it's a factor). It booted up fine and I don't recall nomodeset being enabled. I'm pretty sure, I selected the default setting at the grub screen.

    If hardware was the culprit, the screen would go out randomly or when stressing hardware (gaming, accessing some software program). That doesn't seem to be happening here.

    I suggest trying the other live versions - on a usb flash drive, and report what happens, whether it's the same experience or something different.

    Edit: the reason I am suggesting to try the other versions is that, AFAIK, amdgpu version should be newer and the kernel is newer. Just wondering if either is a factor or changes your experience at all. That's what I am assuming, I'm testing.
    Last edited by linuux; June 28th, 2021 at 02:34 PM. Reason: additional explanation

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Beans
    7

    Re: Unable to use AMD hardware-accelerated graphics on Kubuntu 20.04.2

    Quote Originally Posted by linuux View Post
    If you use nomodeset, then your computer will boot with a working screen? If so, then it's probably not hardware? Do you use Windows? Does this same computer work fine in Windows?

    I would try a 20.10 iso and 21.04 iso to see if the same result happens.

    As I said, I tested on a 21.04 iso and the hardware was similar to yours - Ryzen 2600x, 32gb RAM, Rx 570 (not sure which brand, or how many gb - I can find out, but I don't think it's a factor). It booted up fine and I don't recall nomodeset being enabled. I'm pretty sure, I selected the default setting at the grub screen.

    If hardware was the culprit, the screen would go out randomly or when stressing hardware (gaming, accessing some software program). That doesn't seem to be happening here.

    I suggest trying the other live versions - on a usb flash drive, and report what happens, whether it's the same experience or something different.

    Edit: the reason I am suggesting to try the other versions is that, AFAIK, amdgpu version should be newer and the kernel is newer. Just wondering if either is a factor or changes your experience at all. That's what I am assuming, I'm testing.
    I don't have Windows so I'm unable to test that. Using a 20.10 ISO and 21.04 ISO, I had the same problem. Again, I first noticed this issue with Arch under the 5.12 kernel, and yet it has somehow propagated backwards into the 5.8 kernel with Kubuntu 20.04.2. The AMDGPU driver itself hasn't been updated in either the Arch repo or the Ubuntu repos for over a year, because it hasn't been updated upstream in that long. It seems impossible for this to be caused by a driver update as a result, because those have definitely not changed. Since the kernel seems to be irrelevant as well, it feels like the issue is independent of the kernel and the driver.

    Which has completely broken my brain, honestly...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Unable to use AMD hardware-accelerated graphics on Kubuntu 20.04.2

    i assume you have amdgpu and that you didn't patch kernel with AMDGPU-pro or anything like that?

    you could try kernel parameter:
    Code:
    iommu=soft
    it should affect you as you don't have an APU, but you never know.

    here is another solution to a similar problem: https://askubuntu.com/questions/1135...-load-on-19-04

    another option is you do actually install the pro drivers: https://community.amd.com/t5/drivers...426676/page/18

    quite possibly some bug in AMD driver: https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=200695
    but you could try the workaround:
    Code:
    amdgpu.dc=0
    here is a patch for ni output: https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=209721
    i came to it from Manjaro (arch based) forum: https://forum.manjaro.org/t/what-is-...-need-it/32813

    you could also try loading all updates. maybe the patch is in kernel?!
    Read the easy to understand, lots of pics Ubuntu manual.
    Do i need antivirus/firewall in linux?
    Full disk backup (newer kernel -> suitable for newer PC): Clonezilla
    User friendly full disk backup: Rescuezilla

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •