Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Seeking help with ssh-server set up

Beans

Seeking help with ssh-server set up

I am running a desktop with Kubuntu 18.04.05 LTS. I have been using dropbox to share pdf files with an ipad for several years. This just recently stopped working. In searching the internet for a work around, it seems that using openssh-server on the linix desktop and FE File Explorer on the ipad might be a good solution. So far I have not been able to make it work. I suspect that the problem is the openssh-server set up on the desktop. I may have messed up some of the "script" for openssh-server while attempting to configure. I tried to uninstall and reinstall openssh-server, but the questionable code remains. I would greatly appreciate some input from some kind soul with knowledge of these things.
    Last edited by paydaydaddy; June 12th, 2021 at 06:59 PM.
    Nothing is really clear when you are obtuse.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Re: Seeking help with ssh-server set up

Quote Originally Posted by paydaydaddy View Post
    So far I have not been able to make it work.
    What exactly does happen when you try to ssh in?

Few things to check:
    • Are both your iPad and your computer on the same LAN?
    • Do you have a firewall on your computer that is blocking the connection?
    • What changes, if any, did you make to your /etc/ssh/sshd_config ?
    • As a test, can you ssh into the computer from itself at 127.0.0.1?
    Xubuntu 22.04, ArchLinux ♦ System76 hardware, virt-manager/KVM, VirtualBox
    When your questions are resolved to your satisfaction, please use Thread Tools > "Mark this thread as solved..."

Beans