Thread: Set up unattended install

Beans

Post Set up unattended install

Hi, THis is my first post to the forum, so I hope I am posting in the right group. If not I can re-post elsewhere.

I have some experience of using Linux/Ubuntu as a user. I have used various Linux distros on and off over the years, as a user, and recently have got involved with Ubuntu. I currently have Xubuntu desktop installed on my laptop, so I am familiar-ish with Ubuntu as a user. I have recently got involved with Ubuntu server installs and set up. I am now starting to get involved with some server administration. Let me explain the situation.

We have two test environment servers, one currently left to run 16.04 LTS (Xenial), the other 18.04 LTS (Bionic). These are used for installing our application for test purposes. Occasionally we need to re-install from scratch, meaning fresh OS install first, then apply the application. We sometimes have different configurations to apply, hence easier to wipe and re-install.

The two servers are Dell rack servers, with iDRAC. So we can set up a virtual CD in iDRAC connected to a local copy of the server ISO file, and so re-install the server over the internet this way. This works fine, and I have a fast internet speed where I am based, so process is not long. However this is an attended install, requiring user input to answer questions. So I want to set up unattended install/re-install, to just set the process off, go away have some coffee and it is done.