Thread: Seek text editor that can autotype specific text

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Seek text editor that can autotype specific text

I work as a tech support agent for a software company. For the longest time I've used a Windows 10 PC with the gVIM text editor to document calls. I have a file named _vimrc in the VIM program directory that holds all my autotype commands. For example, if I type "sl", it autotypes "Help creating secondary login". The code for that autotype is in my _vimrc file as follows:

Code:
    abbrev sl Help creating secondary login
    Now I'm going to be able to use my Kubuntu PC for my work, and I'm excited that I can finally get out of Win 10 and all its annoying things. So, naturally, I would think that gVIM for Linux would be my text app. So I installed it, and I figured out that its autotext file was in /etc/vim and was named "gvimrc". It's code is a little different, but it works. For example, to do the same thing described above, the code is as follows:

Code:
    :ab sl Help creating secondary login
    So I coded in all my abbreviations for autotext and now the use of gVIM for Linux should be smooth sailing, right? Not so fast. I can't just use the Shift key and an arrow key to highlight text like I can in the Windows version. I searched around for a command that would let me do that, but haven't found it. In my Internet searches on the problem, I did find out that I could select text by hitting [esc]+v and then just move the arrows to select it. However, even after doing that, I can't simply hit Ctrl+C to copy it. It doesn't copy with that command. I could of course pull down the Edit menu and choose “copy,” but that's cumbersome. The purpose of using this text editor is to take notes quickly on whatever the call was about before saving it into the ticket. Being able to quickly get the text in and then copy it into the ticketing system is of paramount importance.