Thread: su -> root

Beans

Question su -> root

I'm somewhat new to Ubuntu server (used ~10 years ago). On my current UNIX servers I'm able to create a user and give permission to "su" (as part of wheel group).
    It would be really nice to have the same on Ubuntu server (18.04 and above). I found out that by default root is disabled and I have to passwd root to enable it.

• sudo su, sudo bash etc is not an option
    • PermitRootLogin Yes in sshd_config isn't an option either

The only option is to have a user (we can call it joe) who can execute su (/bin/su) and become root itself.

Beans

Re: su -> root

Don't give root a password. Use sudo instead. Anyone in the sudo group can use sudo, and they then have to give their own (not root's) password. That way, there's no root password to share around.
    You can run single commands as sudo: "sudo shutdown now", or run bash as root if you want to run multiple commands without prefixing every one with sudo: "sudo -i".
    Last edited by The Cog; April 30th, 2021 at 08:14 PM.

Beans

If you want a root session you can use sudo -i. It's pretty close to the Unix su command it makes you in root with /root as the home directory.
    Of course you could enable root password and use the su command.

I'm a little curious why you need this and some form sudo won't work. You can even set sudo to not require a password and restrict which commands it has access to.

Beans

Here is the scenario: sudo is configured via LDAP, sometimes LDAP breaks so I need a backup user.

Beans

Of course you could enable root password and use the su command.<- this is what I'd like to do, how can I do it?

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by lacid2 View Post
    Here is the scenario: sudo is configured via LDAP, sometimes LDAP breaks so I need a backup user.
    I don't run LDAP on any of my computers, you can configure sudo locally, all you have to do is add the users you want to the sudo group
    Code:
     usermod -aG sudo newuser