Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Do I have failing hardware?

Beans

Do I have failing hardware?

Hi All - I have been running Ubuntu for a while on old hardware and never had any issues. I could run that thing for months at a time without a reboot and it was solid. I recently bought a new PC "kit" with all new hardware and put it all together. I'm pretty tech literate, I'm a software engineer but I don't do hardware stuff all that often. Anyway, ever since getting this new machine together I've had nothing but issues. It just constantly locks up/screen freezes and becomes completely unresponsive. If I'm watching a youtube video (just as an example) it will freeze, but the sound will continue. The only way to recover is to do a hard restart. Other times (when not doing anything) it will still just freeze up. Sometimes it freezes after a few minutes of booting up and sometimes it will go 6-8 hours without a freeze. Lately, it won't go more than a few mins to a few hours before locking up. I've been using pSensor to check the temps and they are all within norms.

Running
    -Ubuntu 20.10
    -ASUS TUF B450-PLUS GAMING AM4 AMD B450 SATA 6Gb/s ATX AMD Motherboard
    -WD Blue 3D NAND 1TB Internal SSD
    -AMD RYZEN 5 2600X 6-Core 3.6 GHz (4.2 GHz Max Boost) Socket AM4 95W YD260XBCAFBOX Desktop Processor
    -ASRock Phantom Gaming D Radeon RX 570 DirectX 12 RX570 4G 4GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card
    -G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Desktop Memory Model F4-3200C16D-16GVKB

In the logs I'm seeing errors like:

#PF: error_code(0x0010) - not-present page
    #PF: supervisor instruction fetch in kernel mode
    BUG: Kernel Null pointer dereference, address: 0000000000000000000
    get_swap_device: Bad swap file entry
    Failed to start GNOME media keys handling
    gkr-pam: unable to locate daemon control file.
    THD engine start failed