Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Unable to instal Ubuntu 20.04.2.0 on WIndows 7 (Dual Boot)

Beans

Unable to instal Ubuntu 20.04.2.0 on WIndows 7 (Dual Boot)

I'm new to linux so bear with me.
    I wanted to install Ubuntu alongside windows 7 on my laptop. The problem is that the computer doesn't see any of the windows partitions (I also created one just for linux). It offers to erease the whole disk.
    Attached is the printscreen.
    Any ideas how to fix it?

P.S. I tried WUBI but it doesn't work as well. It won't find the iso file in the dvd drive.

Thanks,
    Lukasz.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Unable to instal Ubuntu 20.04.2.0 on WIndows 7 (Dual Boot)

Welcome.

First of all, Windows 7 is out of support and shouldn't be used online under NO CIRCUMSTANCE.
    So, you may consider replacing it instead of a dual-boot.

If you still want to do a dual-boot after all this warnings please check whether or not you're using: 1) RAID or Intel RST modes in BIOS/UEFI -> It must be AHCI but if you change this mode without installing the corresponding support in Windows, it won't boot; or 2) Dynamic partitions in Windows -> This are Microsoft proprietary and incompatible with Linux, there's no solution other than format.

Now, it's up to you.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Welcome to the forums, luke486

There are others here who are far better at helping you with your dual boot question, so I will leave the technical aspects to them.

I just wanted to comment on your larger picture. Please feel free to ignore me if my advice is not suitable to your needs:

1. I'm sure you realize that Win 7 has been EoL for a long time now and running it on its own separate partition is a bad idea due to the extreme security risk that it now represents.