Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trying to install 20.04 over 19.04 -- 'Partitions' problems

Beans

Trying to install 20.04 over 19.04 -- 'Partitions' problems

Linux newbie here.

I have a Lenovo 120S Ideapad that ran slow on Windows so I removed it and somehow managed to put Lubuntu 19.04 disco dingo on, and the laptop then worked great! That was October 2019, and I used it for about 5 months, but I haven't used it in a year, so now I would like to upgrade it to 20.04 LTS and start using it again. I would like to completely erase everything on the HDD and do a fresh install of 20.04. I used Rufus to create a USB boot drive and the installation is giving me some problems that I have no idea how to get past....

I am following the installation tutorial at lubuntu.me. I am on Step 1.3. Within this step is 'Setting up partitions'. Here's where I am stumped.... the screenshot in the tutorial shows an option for 'Erase disk' (which is what I want to do!) but on my laptop, I am not given this option :(

tutorial:
    Capture.JPG

my laptop:
    IMG_20210416_165525148.jpg

In order to get the 'Next' button, I have to select 'Manual partitioning' but I don't know what to do next...

IMG_20210416_165621728.jpg

I have tried almost everything I can think of that is offered on this screen. Create. Edit. Delete. New Partition Table. It even shows 2 nearly identical 'Storage Devices' but there is only one HDD in the laptop?? Everything I do does not open up the 'Next' button so I end up pressing 'Revert All Changes' and I am basically forever stuck.

I searched through the forum and could not find any post that was similar to my issue here. I apologize if I missed any post or if this has already been solved elsewhere.

Do I have to remove 19.04 first? Can I just format the HDD to start fresh? I actually tried that first, but I was unable to install 'wipe' for some reason, it got some errors. A lot of things seem to, which is why I want to get a fresh install!