Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: New disk mdadm viewed as a spare

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Beans
    3

    New disk mdadm viewed as a spare

    Hi,

    I have a soft raid 10 on my server, and 1 disk failed, i replaced it and re synced it using mdam command

    At the beginning :

    Code:
    :~$ cat /proc/mdstat
    Personalities : [linear] [multipath] [raid0] [raid1] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [raid10]
    md0 : active raid0 md1[0] md2[1]
          11720778752 blocks super 1.2 512k chunks
    
    
    md2 : active raid1 sdd1[2](S) sdc1[0]
          5860389696 blocks super 1.2 [2/1] [U_]
    
    
    md1 : active raid1 sda1[0] sdb1[1]
          5860389696 blocks super 1.2 [2/2] [UU]

    then i added "sdd1"
    Code:
    sudo mdadm --add /dev/md2 /dev/sdd1"
    The disk begins to sync
    Code:
    md2 : active raid1 sdd1[2] sdc1[0]      5860389696 blocks super 1.2 [2/1] [U_]     
     [>....................]  recovery =  4.7% (276815616/5860389696) finish=512.4min speed=181595K/sec
    But problem, after sync, the new synced disk is viewed as a spare
    Code:
        
    Number   Major   Minor   RaidDevice State       
           0       8       33       0      active sync   /dev/sdc1
           1       0        0        1      removed
    
    
           2       8       49        -      spare   /dev/sdd1
    How to change the disk from "spare" to "active" ?

    I've read lot of old topics about it but no real answers..

    Thanks
    Max
    Last edited by mmmax; April 12th, 2021 at 10:31 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Halloween Town
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: New disk mdadm viewed as a spare

    Thread moved to Server Platforms for a better fit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Catalunya, Spain
    Beans
    14,558
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: New disk mdadm viewed as a spare

    Did you first remove the old failed member from md2?

    Post the output of:
    Code:
    sudo mdadm -D /dev/md2
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 64bit

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NY's first capital
    Beans
    2,868
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: New disk mdadm viewed as a spare

    Interesting setup. It seems a bit unconventional
    to build your own RAID10 array. Using a RAID0 from two MDADM mirrors.

    At first, I thought you really only had a RAID0 (since the RAID0 was top-level) but
    the reality seems you have the same redundancy and speed gain from
    a typical MDADM RAID10 (conventional or not).

    +1 for the removal first.
    Nothing is ever easy, but if it is difficult you must be doing it wrong.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Beans
    3

    Re: New disk mdadm viewed as a spare

    Hi,

    Thanks for answers, yes, the disk has been removed
    Sync was made, but the disk remains as "spare"

    Here is the result of mdadm -D /dev/md2

    Code:
    Raid Level : raid1
         Array Size : 5860389696 (5588.90 GiB 6001.04 GB)
      Used Dev Size : 5860389696 (5588.90 GiB 6001.04 GB)
       Raid Devices : 2
      Total Devices : 2
        Persistence : Superblock is persistent
    
        Update Time : Tue Apr 13 09:57:51 2021
              State : clean, degraded
     Active Devices : 1
    Working Devices : 2
     Failed Devices : 0
      Spare Devices : 1
    
               Name : server:2  (local to host server)
               UUID : 19b4b284:19eedea2:2e8552ff:dcb49fa1
             Events : 25976
    
        Number   Major   Minor   RaidDevice State
           0       8       33        0      active sync   /dev/sdc1
           1       0        0        1      removed
    
    
           2       8       49        -      spare   /dev/sdd1
    
    .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Catalunya, Spain
    Beans
    14,558
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: New disk mdadm viewed as a spare

    You might hav removed the HDD itself, but in md2 you still have the slot #1 with the 'removed' device in it. Otherwise that line wouldn't be there.

    I don't know if this is a bug, or is it because you are actually using md devices to create another layer of md device. The point being is that while you have that slot #1 filled, the new disk member will be as 'spare'.
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 64bit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    1,325

    Re: New disk mdadm viewed as a spare

    Did you mark the old drive as 'Failed"? I think that needs to be done before your "Remove" it, but it's been a while since I did this and I may be confused.
    I'm not sure how you do that without the drive being present with a device name.
    Last edited by rsteinmetz70112; April 13th, 2021 at 06:17 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Beans
    3

    Re: New disk mdadm viewed as a spare

    thanks for your answers

    Yes, before removing the failed disk i did
    Code:
    sudo mdadm --manage /dev/md2 --fail /dev/sdd1
    sudo mdadm --manage /dev/md2 --remove /dev/sdd1
    I wonder what will happen if I remove sdc1 ? Will sdd1 become active ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Catalunya, Spain
    Beans
    14,558
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: New disk mdadm viewed as a spare

    What worries me is that you seem to have some strange situation. According to your last post you did both --fail and --remove which are the correct commands. But the slot #1 is still marked as taken.

    I wouldn't recommend removing sdc1 because with sdd1 being spare I wouldn't count it has copy of the data.

    You can search around on google, but I honestly don't know what to recommend you. I see on google some people had similar cases and basically ended up recreating the array from start with single disk (and the other member missing). And after that adding sdd1. Be very careful if you decide to go that way because if you want to keep the data you have to use --assume-clean parameter when creating new array from sdc1. Otherwise it will DELETE!!! all data!!

    Bottom line, mdadm works really good and you shouldn't need to do any of this. It should have simply worked. Because any other actions you take have a certain level of risk involved.
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 64bit

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •