Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Ram type & speed

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    INDIA
    Beans
    154
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Ram type & speed

    The OS in one of my desktops is Ubuntu 18.04.5 32 bit. RAM is 2 GB. Now I would like to upgrade to Ubuntu 20.04. Processor [Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5200 @ 2.50GHz × 2]
    which is, I think, okay for 64 bit. Graphics is Intel® G33 x86/MMX/SSE2. However the RAM is too low. Therefore, I would like to increase RAM. How do I know the required speed of RAM commensurate with my PC for buying additional Memory?

    However, the output of dmidecode -t 17 is as under.
    Code:
    naresh@naresh-G31T-M2:~$ sudo dmidecode -t 17
    [sudo] password for naresh: 
    # dmidecode 3.1
    Getting SMBIOS data from sysfs.
    SMBIOS 2.5 present.
    
    Handle 0x000F, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
    Memory Device
        Array Handle: 0x000D
        Error Information Handle: Not Provided
        Total Width: 64 bits
        Data Width: 64 bits
        Size: 2048 MB
        Form Factor: DIMM
        Set: None
        Locator: DIMM0
        Bank Locator: BANK0
        Type: SDRAM
        Type Detail: Synchronous
        Speed: Unknown
        Manufacturer: Manufacturer0
        Serial Number: SerNum0
        Asset Tag: AssetTagNum0
        Part Number: PartNum0
    
    Handle 0x0011, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
    Memory Device
        Array Handle: 0x000D
        Error Information Handle: Not Provided
        Total Width: Unknown
        Data Width: Unknown
        Size: No Module Installed
        Form Factor: DIMM
        Set: None
        Locator: DIMM1
        Bank Locator: BANK1
        Type: Unknown
        Type Detail: Unknown
        Speed: Unknown
        Manufacturer: Manufacturer1
        Serial Number: SerNum1
        Asset Tag: AssetTagNum1
        Part Number: PartNum1
    
    naresh@naresh-G31T-M2:~$
    Last edited by AnupamMitra; 4 Weeks Ago at 12:11 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    2,654
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Ram type & speed

    About 64-bit or not: Check if you have the "lm" flag ("lm" = "Long Mode" = 64-bit) on your CPU? You can use this command:
    Code:
    cat /proc/cpuinfo
    Example from one of my systems:

    Code:
    :~> cat /proc/cpuinfo
    
    processor       : 0
    vendor_id       : AuthenticAMD
    cpu family      : 21
    model           : 96
    model name      : AMD Opteron(tm) X3418 APU
    stepping        : 1
    microcode       : 0x600611a
    cpu MHz         : 3114.451
    cache size      : 1024 KB
    physical id     : 0
    siblings        : 4
    core id         : 0
    cpu cores       : 2
    apicid          : 16
    initial apicid  : 0
    fpu             : yes
    fpu_exception   : yes
    cpuid level     : 13
    wp              : yes
    flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm constant_tsc rep_good acc_power nopl nonstop_tsc cpuid extd_apicid aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq monitor ssse3 fma cx16 sse4_1 sse4_2 movbe popcnt aes xsave avx f16c lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs xop skinit wdt lwp fma4 tce nodeid_msr tbm topoext perfctr_core perfctr_nb bpext ptsc mwaitx cpb hw_pstate ssbd ibpb vmmcall fsgsbase bmi1 avx2 smep bmi2 xsaveopt arat npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save tsc_scale vmcb_clean flushbyasid decodeassists pausefilter pfthreshold avic vgif overflow_recov
    bugs            : fxsave_leak sysret_ss_attrs null_seg spectre_v1 spectre_v2 spec_store_bypass
    bogomips        : 3593.35
    TLB size        : 1536 4K pages
    clflush size    : 64
    cache_alignment : 64
    address sizes   : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management: ts ttp tm 100mhzsteps hwpstate cpb eff_freq_ro acc_power [13]
    If the "lm" flag is missing then that CPU is not 64-bit.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    11,995
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Ram type & speed

    How do I know the required speed of RAM commensurate with my PC for buying additional Memory?
    Look up information on the motherboard.
    Manuals and documentation for this motherboard will tell you the max RAM limits are.
    And what speed and/or versions are supported.

    The G33 looks like it supports either DDR2 or DDR3,
    (I'm sure it's not both at the same time.)
    With a max of 8GB,
    with 800MHZ max speed for DDR2
    and 1066 max speed for DDR3.

    Some reference documentation here: https://www.intel.com/assets/pdf/prodbrief/317311.pdf
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    964

    Re: Ram type & speed

    What is the motherboard or computer model
    Last edited by rsteinmetz70112; 3 Weeks Ago at 04:53 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
    Beans
    2,968
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Ram type & speed

    Would this be of any use to you? You wouldn't have to buy Crucial memory though I have had good success using it.

    https://www.crucial.com/store/systemscanner


    Oops this is a Windows app. Crucial has a memory selector here:

    https://www.crucial.com/store/advisor
    Last edited by kurt18947; 4 Weeks Ago at 01:51 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,413

    Re: Ram type & speed

    For whatever reason, your memory stick does not properly report its attributes with smbios/dmidecode.
    Give the full output of dmidecode:
    Code:
    sudo dmidecode

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    964

    Re: Ram type & speed

    Code:
    # dmidecode
    with usually report the motherboard brand and model number.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Davison, Michigan, U.S.A.
    Beans
    1,111

    Re: Ram type & speed

    I'd just like to add my 2 cents worth. I just installed 20.04. Its supposed to need at least 4 gigs of ram. I couldn't get the extra ram right now so I just installed it anyway with 2 gigs. It runs perfectly fine.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Galiza
    Beans
    4,010
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Ram type & speed

    Quote Originally Posted by sofasurfer View Post
    I just installed it anyway with 2 gigs. It runs perfectly fine.
    Yes, but you must be very careful about what you're running simultaneously.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    INDIA
    Beans
    154
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Ram type & speed

    Quote Originally Posted by scorp123 View Post
    About 64-bit or not: Check if you have the "lm" flag ("lm" = "Long Mode" = 64-bit) on your CPU? You can use this command:
    Code:
    cat /proc/cpuinfo
    Example from one of my systems:

    Code:
    :~> cat /proc/cpuinfo
    
    processor       : 0
    vendor_id       : AuthenticAMD
    cpu family      : 21
    model           : 96
    model name      : AMD Opteron(tm) X3418 APU
    stepping        : 1
    microcode       : 0x600611a
    cpu MHz         : 3114.451
    cache size      : 1024 KB
    physical id     : 0
    siblings        : 4
    core id         : 0
    cpu cores       : 2
    apicid          : 16
    initial apicid  : 0
    fpu             : yes
    fpu_exception   : yes
    cpuid level     : 13
    wp              : yes
    flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm constant_tsc rep_good acc_power nopl nonstop_tsc cpuid extd_apicid aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq monitor ssse3 fma cx16 sse4_1 sse4_2 movbe popcnt aes xsave avx f16c lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs xop skinit wdt lwp fma4 tce nodeid_msr tbm topoext perfctr_core perfctr_nb bpext ptsc mwaitx cpb hw_pstate ssbd ibpb vmmcall fsgsbase bmi1 avx2 smep bmi2 xsaveopt arat npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save tsc_scale vmcb_clean flushbyasid decodeassists pausefilter pfthreshold avic vgif overflow_recov
    bugs            : fxsave_leak sysret_ss_attrs null_seg spectre_v1 spectre_v2 spec_store_bypass
    bogomips        : 3593.35
    TLB size        : 1536 4K pages
    clflush size    : 64
    cache_alignment : 64
    address sizes   : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management: ts ttp tm 100mhzsteps hwpstate cpb eff_freq_ro acc_power [13]
    If the "lm" flag is missing then that CPU is not 64-bit.
    Thanks. The outcome of cat /proc/cpuinfo is as under. I think it is 64 bit. Isn't it?

    Code:
    naresh@naresh-G31T-M2:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
    processor    : 0
    vendor_id    : GenuineIntel
    cpu family    : 6
    model        : 23
    model name    : Pentium(R) Dual-Core  CPU      E5200  @ 2.50GHz
    stepping    : 10
    microcode    : 0xa0b
    cpu MHz        : 1580.895
    cache size    : 2048 KB
    physical id    : 0
    siblings    : 2
    core id        : 0
    cpu cores    : 2
    apicid        : 0
    initial apicid    : 0
    fdiv_bug    : no
    f00f_bug    : no
    coma_bug    : no
    fpu        : yes
    fpu_exception    : yes
    cpuid level    : 13
    wp        : yes
    flags        : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts cpuid aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm xsave lahf_lm pti dtherm
    bugs        : cpu_meltdown spectre_v1 spectre_v2 spec_store_bypass l1tf mds swapgs itlb_multihit
    bogomips    : 4987.93
    clflush size    : 64
    cache_alignment    : 64
    address sizes    : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:
    
    processor    : 1
    vendor_id    : GenuineIntel
    cpu family    : 6
    model        : 23
    model name    : Pentium(R) Dual-Core  CPU      E5200  @ 2.50GHz
    stepping    : 10
    microcode    : 0xa0b
    cpu MHz        : 1534.361
    cache size    : 2048 KB
    physical id    : 0
    siblings    : 2
    core id        : 1
    cpu cores    : 2
    apicid        : 1
    initial apicid    : 1
    fdiv_bug    : no
    f00f_bug    : no
    coma_bug    : no
    fpu        : yes
    fpu_exception    : yes
    cpuid level    : 13
    wp        : yes
    flags        : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts cpuid aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm xsave lahf_lm pti dtherm
    bugs        : cpu_meltdown spectre_v1 spectre_v2 spec_store_bypass l1tf mds swapgs itlb_multihit
    bogomips    : 4987.93
    clflush size    : 64
    cache_alignment    : 64
    address sizes    : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:
    
    naresh@naresh-G31T-M2:~$

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •