Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new user

Beans

new user

Hi name is cody I am new to Ubuntu well linux in general anyone have any advice to learn it or understand all the commands.

thanks

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: new user

codeman2500; Hello - Welcome to Linux in general and Ubuntu in particular

As you may be aware the transition from one operating system to the use of another can be daunting; but, it is not difficult.

As a place to start may I suggest that you read the "stickies" within this forum. There are loads of tutorials - Google is your friend - available. The trick is to differentiate what is now relevant. Ubuntu is developed rapidly and as such may be a fast moving target; old info may no longer apply to the current desk top environment. We do evolve with technology.

Just use the system - basically we have become very user intuitive - when you look under the hood we are here to assist

Your own curiosity will be your best guide. The operating system comes with the "Manual". At the terminal execute command:
    Code:
    man man
    that introduces one to the linux world.
    You will find the link "PopularPages" in my sig of great help.

My bit to try to help
    Last edited by Bashing-om; April 7th, 2021 at 03:06 AM.
    THE current(cy) in Documentation:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/PopularPages

Happy ubuntu'n !

Beans

THe Ubuntu documentation at the site linked below is a good starting point.

https://ubuntu.com/tutorials/command...ers#1-overview

Beans

A good resource.

https://linuxjourney.com/
    Under certain circumstances, profanity provides a relief denied even to prayer.
    (Mark Twain)

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Quote Originally Posted by codeman2500 View Post
    Hi name is cody I am new to Ubuntu well linux in general anyone have any advice to learn it or understand all the commands.
    Excellent advice.