Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: most simple way to restart NetworkManager

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Beans
    28

    most simple way to restart NetworkManager

    Classical way - opening terminal, typing
    Code:
    sudo systemctl restart NetworkManager
    is too complicated for some non technical user.

    Is there please simpler way ?

    Ubuntu 20.04, icewm.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    737

    Re: most simple way to restart NetworkManager

    reboot.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: most simple way to restart NetworkManager

    Put those commands into a shell script that is located in the PATH. It won't work for normal users, but it will for users in the sudo group.

    But if this isn't a laptop, perhaps not using network manager is an option? A desktop would probably be best with static IP. NetworkManager can be removed then. No need to restart somethings that always works.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    1,270

    Re: most simple way to restart NetworkManager

    Why are you restarting network manager so much? What is the use case here

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Beans
    28

    Re: most simple way to restart NetworkManager

    Quote Originally Posted by Tadaen_Sylvermane View Post
    reboot.
    well, thank you

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Beans
    28

    Re: most simple way to restart NetworkManager

    well, thank you.

    It is a laptop using one IP address from wifi router. It is still on one same location "as desktop".

    Wifi was not working once time after start of Ubuntu. Full reboot did not help. Wifi had started to work after
    Code:
    sudo systemctl restart NetworkManager

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Beans
    28

    Re: most simple way to restart NetworkManager

    Quote Originally Posted by ActionParsnip View Post
    Why are you restarting network manager so much? What is the use case here
    Please see previous post https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread....6#post14030586

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: most simple way to restart NetworkManager

    Quote Originally Posted by maketopsite View Post
    well, thank you.

    It is a laptop using one IP address from wifi router. It is still on one same location "as desktop".

    Wifi was not working once time after start of Ubuntu. Full reboot did not help. Wifi had started to work after
    Code:
    sudo systemctl restart NetworkManager
    I'd setup the network using netplan and disable network-manager (everything). Once netplan was proven to be stable for a week, then I'd purge network-manager-{everything}. None of my systems have any network-manager software on them. My laptop that does move from time to time uses wicd for wifi. At home, that laptop uses a wired ethernet connection with a USB-to-ethernet adapter.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    737

    Re: most simple way to restart NetworkManager

    Give it a static ip assignment at the router? This way you can keep the laptop on dhcp for mobility but at home or whatever it will always get whatever ip you set? I used to avoid doing that, now I live by it rather than setting ip's on every device / machine in my home that I control.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: most simple way to restart NetworkManager

    Quote Originally Posted by Tadaen_Sylvermane View Post
    Give it a static ip assignment at the router? This way you can keep the laptop on dhcp for mobility but at home or whatever it will always get whatever ip you set? I used to avoid doing that, now I live by it rather than setting ip's on every device / machine in my home that I control.
    I do this for laptops and devices that are hard or impossible to set static IPs, but for any system that will be a server, I set any static IPs on-the-OS so a dhcp failure doesn't prevent communications on the LAN. LAN systems don't need a router to talk.
    Sometimes the dhcp reservation setup is easy. Sometimes not. https://blog.jdpfu.com/2011/07/18/us...ice-management

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •