Thread: Seagate GoFlex FreeAgent 3TB external USB drive has stopped being recognized

Beans

Seagate GoFlex FreeAgent 3TB external USB drive has stopped being recognized

Hi,

I have been using a Seagate GoFlex 3TB external USB drive for about the last 10 years, mostly on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS.

Generally I had no problems although very occasionally it would seem to be asleep or hibernating and I had to unplug and replug it in/repower up the laptop to get it to work again. (I also read on other threads that these drives were - at least until a few years back - not linux-friendly, and there have been a few threads on the internet regarding the sleep mode, on linux.)

All that said, the other day, the drive stopped being recognized at all, on ubuntu 16.04 or 20.04.2 (I tried booting from these two different live usb thumb drives). The only thing I can think may have had something to do with the problem is that shortly before it stopped working, I issued a umount -a command. Perhaps this was a too abrupt/non-graceful command.

Lights on the drive itself: when plugging in the power cable all the lights briefly flash on before going out completely. When I then plugin the usb cable into my laptop, there is a single light that comes on(after a short delay) and just seems to be quite dimly lit.

The drive no longer spins. There is no humming anymore.

I have issued the following commands to try to locate any mention of the drive:

Code:
    dmesg
    tail -f /var/log/syslog
    sudo parted -l
    sudo lshw -C storage
    lsusb -v
    sudo fdisk -l
    None of the above appear to indicate the drive is being recognized.... although some of the output may help to diagnose the problem, if someone can interpret the output.

I have tried booting into a windows partition, too, to see if it is recognized there, but I get the same result. Also, I tried plugging the drive into 2 different laptops and, again, the result is no different.