Thread: Lubuntu/Windows 10 Dual boot from separate drives (noob questions/concerns)

Beans

Lubuntu/Windows 10 Dual boot from separate drives (noob questions/concerns)

Hi all, I'm pretty new to linux in general, and have been reading up on the process of setting up a Win10/Linux dual boot over the last couple days, but some things are still unclear to me.

I want to install Linux on it's own HDD to keep everything separate from Windows. So my drive setup would be;

-1tb SSD with Windows 10 installed

-2tb HDD for storage for Windows 10

-1tb HDD for Lubuntu install/storage.

My goal is to choose between Win10 or Lubuntu on each startup, but I'm not sure exactly how to accomplish that (I've read up a bit on GRUB but I'm not positive on how/where to install it, ie during Lubuntu install, after it's installed, etc).

I just unplugged all my Win10 related drives and tried installing Lubuntu on the 1tb HDD for fun, but I didn't end up finishing because there are some things I'm just not clear on. For one, the partitioning; I'm on the legacy BIOS setting for Win10, so I'd have to make an MBR partition table(?) on the 1tb HDD. For a dual boot, what would be the partitioning setup so that I can access GRUB on each startup? Would I have to change my BIOS settings to boot from the drive with Lubuntu installed in order to access GRUB, to then pick either Win10 or Lubuntu?

I've found a bunch of tutorials on how to do a separate drive dual boot with Ubuntu, but none with Lubuntu. I tried to follow those guides as best I could, but the Calamares installer has it's own set of options vs Ubuntu's Ubiquity installer, and I just didn't want to make assumptions and screw something up.

Anyway, I'm hoping someone could just point me in the right direction. If I didn't give enough info, please just let me know what to add and I'll do so. Many thanks.
    Last edited by sircanucklehead; April 1st, 2021 at 04:52 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa