Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: snap should be dropped in desktop versions

Beans

snap should be dropped in desktop versions

snap packages add a new level of administration and required knowledge. In a non-technical desktop distribution, this is unacceptable. I've been using Linux for 40 years and Ubuntu for 10 of them. When I added and tried to use Keepassxc it couldn't access my database despite the fact that the Linux file system permissions should have allowed it. I assume it's a snap package limitation of some kind. I'll be darned if I'm going to learn snap administration in order to figure out what's wrong. If Ubuntu doesn't stop using snap, I will have to change distributions, which is a major pain to say the least.

I don't want to start a flame war. If someone can suggest another venue to more effectively communicate with the developers, please let me know.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Re: snap should be dropped in desktop versions

This is definitely not the venue to contact the developers. You may try this mailing list.
    Please read The Forum Rules and The Forum Posting Guidelines

A thing discovered and kept to oneself must be discovered time and again by others. A thing discovered and shared with others need be discovered only the once.
    This universe is crazy. I'm going back to my own.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 20.04 Focal Fossa

Quote Originally Posted by jim-o View Post