Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can not adjust resolution due to "nomodeset" with Intel Integrated Graphics

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Beans
    3

    Can not adjust resolution due to "nomodeset" with Intel Integrated Graphics

    Hi everyone,


    I have very little experience with Linux and therefore have been unable to resolve this issue with searching.


    My issue: I would get a black screen when attempting to install Ubuntu 20.04 (likely due to UEFI). As a result, I ended up adding nomodeset setting to my grub (following this guide). Unfortunately this resulted in my resolution being stuck at 1024x763. From my research, nomodeset is just a temporary solution that allows people to install proper drivers on their system. With that said, I keep reading that Intel Graphics Driver comes preinstalled in the kernel. Is this true?

    Settings->About->Graphics shows llvmpipe (LLVM 11.0.0, 256 bit) which I believe is incorrect and should say something along the lines of Intel(R) UHD630. At this point, I've attempted to update my grub with (according to this post):

    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=""
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""
    Which resulted in inability to boot altogether. I had to reinstall Ubuntu since I could no longer figure out how to access grub during booting process.
    My system:

    • Intel i7-10700 w/ Intel UHD Graphics 630
    • ASRock B560M PRO4/AC LGA 1200
    • No dedicated GPU
    • Ubuntu is installed on a dedicated SSD



    Any helpful tips are appreciated,

    Thank you in advance.
    Last edited by fiftyfivenot; March 30th, 2021 at 07:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunny Southend-on-Sea
    Beans
    8,313
    Distro
    Kubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Can not adjust resolution due to "nomodeset" with Intel Integrated Graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by fiftyfivenot View Post
    As a result, I ended up adding nomodeset setting to my grub
    Don't do that. You're specifically disabling the Kernel Mode Setting driver, which is the only one you've got.

    It can be beneficial to disable nouveau's KMS for the single boot before you install the proprietary nvidia driver, but not otherwise.

    Settings->About->Graphics shows llvmpipe (LLVM 11.0.0, 256 bit) which I believe is incorrect and should say something along the lines of Intel(R) UHD630.
    It would say something different if you hadn't deliberately disabled the driver. You're left with the software fallback since there's no other option.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Beans
    3

    Re: Can not adjust resolution due to "nomodeset" with Intel Integrated Graphics

    Don't do that. You're specifically disabling the Kernel Mode Setting driver, which is the only one you've got.
    This is the only way my system will boot. Also, I can not install NVIDIA drivers because I am using Intel UHD630 iGPU.

    It would say something different if you hadn't deliberately disabled the driver. You're left with the software fallback since there's no other option.
    How can I enable Intel graphics driver while booted in nomodeset mode?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunny Southend-on-Sea
    Beans
    8,313
    Distro
    Kubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Can not adjust resolution due to "nomodeset" with Intel Integrated Graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by fiftyfivenot View Post
    How can I enable Intel graphics driver while booted in nomodeset mode?
    You can't. That's what I just explained to you. nomodeset is you specifically disabling the driver.

    I don't know what the actual problem is with your machine - bad cabling or bad EDID are possibilities - but "how can I disable a thing and have it still be enabled?" is nonsensical.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Can not adjust resolution due to "nomodeset" with Intel Integrated Graphics

    Have you updated UEFI from Asrock?

    Review settings in UEFI for video. It should be defaulting to Intel's video not an external (which does not exist).
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Beans
    3

    Re: Can not adjust resolution due to "nomodeset" with Intel Integrated Graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by oldfred View Post
    Have you updated UEFI from Asrock?

    Review settings in UEFI for video. It should be defaulting to Intel's video not an external (which does not exist).
    Yup, I am running the latest version of UEFI and my GPU setting was set to Intel iGPU. No luck with running Ubuntu without nomodeset.


    Thankfully I was able to get my hands on a dedicated GPU and Ubuntu works great with my "new" card. The problem is "solved".

    Thank you for your help oldfred and CatKiller.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Can not adjust resolution due to "nomodeset" with Intel Integrated Graphics

    looks like the latest kernel (not ubuntu linux kernel but linux kernel) might be needed to get the chip running: https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2459881

    i thought these chips were out for some time now, because for some reason their price is way lower than for old Ryzens.
    Read the easy to understand, lots of pics Ubuntu manual.
    Do i need antivirus/firewall in linux?
    Full disk backup (newer kernel -> suitable for newer PC): Clonezilla
    User friendly full disk backup: Rescuezilla

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Can not adjust resolution due to "nomodeset" with Intel Integrated Graphics

    This user mentions 20.04 and 630:

    First things first, this issue does not exist on Ubuntu 20.04 with the beta 5.10 OEM kernel, although it does not work on the stock kernel or latest HWE
    https://unix.stackexchange.com/quest...er-grub-screen

    It looks like developers have codes to enable experimental graphic.
    Saw this on the very new Xe graphics:
    Gen12 Xe Graphics might not be working out-of-the-box depending upon your kernel.
    Re-booting the system while having "i915.force_probe=4c8a" Some distribution kernels including the likes of Ubuntu are already carrying the patch
    https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pa...kl-linux&num=1

    But this in searching on force_probe (bold mine)
    Please don't mention i915.force_probe in end-user documentation #980
    https://github.com/intel/media-driver/issues/980
    https://cateee.net/lkddb/web-lkddb/D...RCE_PROBE.html
    https://www.mail-archive.com/intel-g...msg191190.html
    Also add new CONFIG_DRM_I915_FORCE_PROBE config option to replace the
    > DRM_I915_ALPHA_SUPPORT option. This defaults to "*" if
    > DRM_I915_ALPHA_SUPPORT=y.
    >
    > Instead of replacing i915.alpha_support immediately, let the two coexist
    > for a while, with a deprecation message, for a transition period.

    And one user mentioned this:
    Sep 12, 2019 · cat /etc/modprobe. force_probe=%04x " "module parameter or ... I believe this is the intel HD 630.
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •