Thread: Can't install libinput gestures

Beans

Question Can't install libinput gestures

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Ubuntu and I'm running it on a partition. It is 20.04 and I'm trying to install libinput gestures.
    I keep getting this message when trying to install the interface: python3: can't open file 'setup.py': [Errno 2] No such file or directory

Also, my gestures are configured but the webpage back/forward swipes are reversed. I don't know how to fix that.

Do I have to use terminal for everything on Ubuntu? I don't think I can learn how to use it if that is the case and I might ditch and go back to using my mac unfortunately, which I don't want because my mac laptop is very old.

Thank you very much!

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Re: Can't install libinput gestures

Quote Originally Posted by dollfish View Post
    Hello everyone,

I'm new to Ubuntu and I'm running it on a partition. It is 20.04 and I'm trying to install libinput gestures.
    I keep getting this message when trying to install the interface: python3: can't open file 'setup.py': [Errno 2] No such file or directory

Also, my gestures are configured but the webpage back/forward swipes are reversed. I don't know how to fix that.
    Have you got a link to whatever instructions you followed to install this? The script interpreter python3 fails to run the setup script, which could be as simple as failure to change to the right directory before running the command. I haven't tried this myself though. It's bad enough I sometimes have to use gestures on my phone.

Do I have to use terminal for everything on Ubuntu? I don't think I can learn how to use it if that is the case and I might ditch and go back to using my mac unfortunately, which I don't want because my mac laptop is very old.

Thank you very much!