Thread: 20.04 LTS - .To Partition or not Partition?

Beans

20.04 LTS - .To Partition or not Partition?

Having used ubuntu since 2007, I have always installed with separate partitions for home and root. However, I have always done fresh installs.
    I now have a computer with 20.04 pre-installed without partitioning. If I wanted to perform a new upgrade install of 22.04 presumably next year,
    would re-installing the current OS with separate partitions for /home and / be helpful?

If so, should I add a swap partition? I read that the latest ubuntus install by default with a partition file, but I see that it is a matter of discussion.
    After all, Linus T seems to favor continuing with swap partition ...

I should note that I am a happily retired programmer and although I'm still doing a little coding, the target machine is meant to be a workstation
    for only a slightly higher level than casual use.

As an addendum, I am unable to edit my signature. I getting a permission denied message when I attempt to post changes.
    Last edited by Tim_Johnson; March 7th, 2021 at 01:53 AM.
    ----
    Programmer since 1987. Linux since 2000
    Lives in Palmer, Alaska

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: 20.04 LTS - .To Partition or not Partition?

If we have just one Linux partition it means that the home directory is in the same partition as the root directory. That is not a good situation to be in when re-installing as the re-install will format the partition taking out any data in the folders in /home .

So, it is much better to have 2 partitions. One partition for root ( / ) and another partition for home (/home). Then when we re-install we can instruct the installer not to format the /home partition.