Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dell laptop won't boot from usb

Beans

Dell laptop won't boot from usb

I have a Dell Inspiron 15-3565 with bios version 1.10.1 and I cannot seem to boot Ubuntu on USB. I used unetbootin. I have a current Windows 10 install and I want to dual boot. I read somewhere that maybe my bios won't boot anything gtp, not sure if this is, but I would really like some help please. I've tried disabling secure boot, fastboot and even tried legacy mode. It only gives me USB storage option, but if I select it, it says failure to load. I might add that my bios is Aptio setup utility American Megatrends Inc if that matters

Beans

Re: Dell laptop won't boot from usb

I'm not sure why your usb won't boot but one thing you could easily try is software other than unetbootin, ventoy, rufus or some other. Have you ever booted a usb from this computer? How old is it?

Beans

I have never tried before. We purchased the laptop 3 years ago came with Windows 7. It was purchased new. I will try other software for creating the USB and I'll try creating a disc iso too and report back my results. Windows has made my laptop painfully sluggish even with an upgraded SSD

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

I suggest using Rufus on a Windows machine to make the USB device. https://rufus.ie/ A machine that new probably requires GPT.
    If you ask for help, do not abandon your request. Please have the courtesy to check for responses and thank the people who helped you.

Blog · Linode System Administration Guides · Android Apps for Ubuntu Users

Beans

F12 is usually the bottom to press on Dell systems to bring up the one time boot menu. If this is to ONLY have Ubuntu on then I recommend disabling UEFI/Secureboot and so on.

Beans

I used rufus and was able to boot the usb. Attempting install now. Thank you for the rufus suggestion. It appears to be installing alongside Windows. I'll update upon results

Beans