Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Questions about users management

Beans

Questions about users management

Hi,
    So I'm very new to Ubuntu, I have bene tasked with a installing and configuring a 20.04 Ubuntu.
    So everything is fine, but I would need to have 2 users, both with administrations rights (and different passwords), but independent. So they could not see/manipulate each others home/folder/files, the software that each one installs is not applied nor accessible from the other... etc

Is this possible at all? I have been doing some tests in the Ubuntu settings, but I have not been able to do it

Any advice would appreciated, thanks

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: Questions about users management

Every user can set permissions on his own home directory and all files therein to grand or deny read, write and execute access of other users to those files and directories. However, an admin user (i.e., a user who can use sudo for arbitrary commands) can always override those permissions.

Software installed in your home directory may be accessible to you only, if you wish so. Software installed system wide may be executable only for specific users, but this is messy. Software installed in the normal way is executable for all users. And again, any admin user can override this.

Read this: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FilePermissions

Beans

No, this isn't possible. There's actually only one account with full administrative permissions ('root', the user with id 0). Other users with administrative rights are allowed to act as root temporarily through use of the 'sudo' (or 'pkexec') command. Since being root means having full access to everything on the system, it isn't possible to block one user who can act as root from accessing the files of another user.