Thread: Having trouble mounting Western Digital My Book World Edition

Beans

Having trouble mounting Western Digital My Book World Edition

Hello everyone, I am very new to Ubuntu and everything linux. I am very much enjoying its simplicity. I recently switched my laptop over to Ubuntu 20.04, completely getting rid of the Windows 10.1 that was on this laptop. Our home recently had multiple power surges from a really bad storm and our Western Digital My Book World Edition nic went out. It no longer connects to the network. With a little diggin around the forum and the internet, I'm not sure if I know how to mount the HDD to my laptop so I can retrieve our data.

Would anyone be willing to help? I currently have the HDD removed, and connected via a SATA to USB with a power supply. I do know the hard drive works because when I open up a terminal session and type $ sudo fdisk -l I can see the drive and the partitions:

Disk /dev/sdb: 931.53 GiB, 1000204886016 bytes, 1953525168 sectors
    Disk model: EADS-11M2B2
    Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disklabel type: dos
    Disk identifier: 0x00000300

Device Boot Start End Sectors Size Id Type
    /dev/sdb1 64320 3984191 3919872 1.9G fd Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sdb2 3984192 4498175 513984 251M fd Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sdb3 4498176 6474175 1976000 964.9M fd Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sdb4 6474176 1953520064 1947045889 928.4G fd Linux raid autodetect

After this, I'm 100% positive I don't know what I'm doing. I created a new directory, and tried to mount it to that directory, but I get an error.
    $ sudo mkdir /media/mount
    $ sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/sdb4 /media/mount
    And I get this once I hit enter:
    mount: /media/mount: /dev/sdb4 already mounted or mount point busy.