Thread: Installation Problems | Failed to load ldlinux.c32

Beans

Installation Problems | Failed to load ldlinux.c32

Hello, I am very new to ubuntu and I'm trying to install it on an old, Windows 7 PC via a bootable USB. I have followed the guide on the Ubuntu website on how to make a bootable Ubuntu USB. However, when i try to boot from the USB it gets as far as.
    Code:
    Verifiying DMI Pool Data .............
    And then gives me this error
    Code:
    Failed to load ldlinux.c32
    Boot failed: please change disks and press a key to continue
    Things I have tried:
    • Changing the boot priority so that the USB is first
    • Booting from the USB via the boot menu
    • re-flashing the .iso (I have tried Rufus, Universal USB Installer and UNetBootIn)
    • renaming the 'isolinux' folder, 'isolinux.bin' and 'isolinux.cfg' to 'syslinux', 'syslinux.bin', and 'syslinux.cfg' (this was suggested in another forum)

I have tried all of the above but to no avail. Any help would be much appreciated.

PS: System specs are

• CPU: Intel Pentuim(R) Dual-Core CPU @3.20GHz
    • RAM: 4.00 GB
    • GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450

UPDATE:
    I eventually found a DVD that I could burn the iso to. That worked perfectly. I beleive it is possible that i may have not set up the bios right for booting from usb but i guess i'll never know
    Last edited by glitcheddata; January 20th, 2021 at 05:21 PM.

Beans

Re: Installation Problems | Failed to load ldlinux.c32

Did you MD5 test the ISO you downloaded?

Beans

no i didn't. although i'm not sure how. as i said. i'm very new to this stuff

Beans

no, i didn't. although i'm not sure how. as i said. I'm very new to this stuff

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

From an internet search I see that this problem has been around for a few years. I would post a link to other forums where this question was asked but they do not seem to provide a clear answer.