Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Lubuntu with GNOME

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Beans
    9

    Lubuntu with GNOME

    I have installed and set GNOME on lubuntu, so do I have now ubuntu? Is between ubuntu and lubuntu any other difference?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    57,525

    Re: Lubuntu with GNOME

    Thread moved to the "New to Ubuntu" forum.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Beans
    9

    Re: Lubuntu with GNOME

    Thanks, I did not know, where to ask it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    melbourne, au
    Beans
    905
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: Lubuntu with GNOME

    Personally I'd call it Ubuntu, but it would be equally correct to call it Lubuntu. It would also depend on whom I'm talking to.

    The system I'm replying to you on, was a Ubuntu install originally, on which I added `xubuntu-desktop`, `lubuntu-desktop` & `ubuntu-mate-desktop` to it. Thus what is mine?

    I select (as you likely do) which I use during login, and as I'm currently using my Lubuntu session, I'd more likely call it Lubuntu currently online, however if speaking with friends/family or non-ubuntu people, I'd generally fall back to Ubuntu (more people may know what it is) or just refer to it as a GNU/Linux.

    If I was using XFCE/Xubuntu, I'd likely call it Xubuntu online, or when speaking to people who know what Xubuntu is. If using GNOME/Ubuntu, I'd just call it Ubuntu. (I've since removed `ubuntu-mate-desktop` so I can't use that anymore).

    Personally I'd not call it a Linux machine (*1), for me it's GNU/Linux, but that's just my choice. Most do call it Linux - ie. there is no right answer; it's what seems most correct for you.


    *1 = Linux is the kernel, my android phone uses that kernel too

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Beans
    9

    Re: Lubuntu with GNOME

    So is there any other difference between Ubuntu and Lubuntu that different desktop?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    57,525

    Re: Lubuntu with GNOME

    Quote Originally Posted by jazahalka View Post
    ...so do I have now ubuntu?
    Might help to know exactly what package(s) you have installed to "set gnome". It's unclear eg, whether you have installed purely a gnome desktop or the full ubuntu desktop.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Beans
    9

    Re: Lubuntu with GNOME

    I installed just the gnome-desktop package I think.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    1,222

    Re: Lubuntu with GNOME

    What is the output of:
    Code:
    lsb_release -a; uname -a
    Thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Beans
    9

    Re: Lubuntu with GNOME

    It says:

    No LSB modules are available.
    Distributor ID: Ubuntu
    Description: Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS
    Release: 20.04
    Codename: focal
    Linux ls-aspirea51552g 5.4.0-62-generic #70-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jan 12 12:45:47 UTC 2021 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

    So is Lubuntu just Ubuntu with different desktop?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    1,222

    Re: Lubuntu with GNOME

    Quote Originally Posted by jazahalka View Post
    So is Lubuntu just Ubuntu with different desktop?
    Essentially, yes. Ubuntu uses Gnome. Lubuntu uses LXDE. The underlying packages are identical

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •