Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu unusable due to too small a partition

Beans

Unhappy Ubuntu unusable due to too small a partition

Hello all,

I am new to ubuntu and recently set up ubuntu from a USB stick to dual boot from my windows 10 laptop. However, I think I chose too small a partition size for ubuntu, since I could only install a text editor and chrome before getting 'free more space from filesystem root' and having lots of problems here.

I have tried to extend the partition by using GParted but I was not successful since sda5 was mounted (and I think it is not possible to extend a partition why using that system?). Here's what I can see on GParted:

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachmen...95/unknown.png

Can I extend the partition from windows? Here's what I see from the windows disk manager:

https://i.gyazo.com/1cdf973ed6911921...260b2560a7.png
    I would like to continue using ubuntu, but currently this setup is painful to use. If extending the partition isn't the best solution, any other solutions would really be appreciated.
    Last edited by ajgreeny; January 11th, 2021 at 08:17 PM. Reason: Large images replaced by links.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: Ubuntu unusable due to too small a partition

You cannot change a partition when it's mounted and you cannot unmount a partition when you run the system installed on it. So the procedure is to boot Windows and use that to shrink the Windows partition, then boot an Ubuntu live disk and use that to expand the Ubuntu partition. However, your Windows partition is quite full already, so this may be a problem.

BTW, that brownish wallpaper on the background looks like the default wallpaper of a very old Ubuntu release. May I ask which version of Ubuntu you installed? I hope you just installed that old wallpaper because you liked it.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release