Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kernel 5.8.0-34-generic CRASHED

Hybrid View

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Kernel 5.8.0-34-generic CRASHED

Ubuntu 20.04. Due to a spotty Internet connection I've been fighting for two months (thanks Comcast), I got a bad DL of the latest Kernel via standard Ubuntu updater. When attempting to boot it goes through the disk check with the spinning icon and then to a black screen with blinking cursor. No command line and the screen flickers about every 10 seconds like it's trying to restart the graphics. Won't start in 5.8.0-34's "safe mode" or "debug mode" or whatever the Grub menu option is either. It did post an error during the update about the Nvidia graphics driver and I did let the bug reporter do it's thing, but I'm just not advanced enough to know what happened.

I can boot into the previous 5.4.0-59-generic just fine. I think what I need to do is remove the newer kernel and then let it update again but am open to most anything that fixes it. Comcast ran a new temporary cable yesterday so the connection is now stable. I do have the option to fully R&R Ubuntu since my personal stuff is on a separate drive and am competent to do that. Can someone walk me through removing the affected kernel first?

Please help!!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Kernel 5.8.0-34-generic CRASHED

I would try, before anything else
    Code:
    sudo apt update && sudo apt full-upgrade

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Quote Originally Posted by farlander762 View Post
    I got a bad DL of the latest Kernel via standard Ubuntu updater.
    Unlikely. The packages are checksummed and cryptographically signed. If the package was corrupted by the Internet connection the package manager would either download it again or stop and complain.

It did post an error during the update about the Nvidia graphics driver
    How did you install the driver?