Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 40 of 40

Thread: adding raid 1 to existing server. ( what next)

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Beans
    26

    Re: adding raid 1 to existing server. ( what next)

    in my notes i've entered mkfs -t ext4 /dev/md0
    i do seem to recall that /dev/md0 was listed during one of the disk info displays

    I should have reported exactly what I did, sorry.



  2. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Beans
    26

    Re: adding raid 1 to existing server. ( what next)

    the line from df -Th is

    /dev/md127 917G 72M 870G 1% /media/raid

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Beans
    26

    Re: adding raid 1 to existing server. ( what next)

    output from df parted and fdisk
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: adding raid 1 to existing server. ( what next)

    Quote Originally Posted by tross9 View Post
    the line from df -Th is

    /dev/md127 917G 72M 870G 1% /media/raid

    There isn't a file system listed. Appears that the mkfs didn't work. I'd guess you missed the -t ext4 option?
    Code:
    $ \df -Th
    Filesystem     Type      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/md2       ext4      1.3T  1.2T   67G  95% /Data/r2
    /dev/md1       ext4      1.8T  1.7T   18G 100% /raid
    Something like this is what I expected. That's on my RAIDs. Without a file system, nothing good can happen ... er ... unless you want to put LVM onto it, but if that was the case I'd have skipped using mdadm at all and let LVM handle the RAID setup instead.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Beans
    26

    Re: adding raid 1 to existing server. ( what next)

    ext4 was left out when i was retyping.
    the server in another part of the room , so i needed to write down what I saw and type in on this system when I'm in the forum. ( i need new glasses )
    ( was not able to connect to the server's shares to pull the saved output)

    once i got the raid boot issue fixed , it took awhile for me to connect this system to the share , but i reposted the drive info.

    i think the raid is ok,
    i just need to fix the permissions, I can read from the share, just cant write to it.
    I need to look at samba config file, and I need to check user accounts ( not sure if chown and chmod need to be to the shares).
    i've not setup or needed a Samba workgroup in the past but i'll need to do that now,
    i have a couple of users that will need to backup their stuff, and i don't want them using anything but their own share, i have a few links to samba permission setup but other link you may have are welcome

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: adding raid 1 to existing server. ( what next)

    You aren't using ssh and sftp for this? Ouch.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Beans
    26

    Re: adding raid 1 to existing server. ( what next)

    yes , ouch
    and a lot of typo on my part

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: adding raid 1 to existing server. ( what next)

    Quote Originally Posted by tross9 View Post
    yes , ouch
    and a lot of typo on my part
    ssh between Unix systems is trivial to setup. 3 commands, 30 seconds. Done.
    Code:
    Step 0:  Install openssh-server on the remote system or use the metapackage "openssh" for the client and the server.
       $ sudo apt install openssh fail2ban
    
    Step 1:  Run on the client as the normal user:
       $ ssh-keygen -t ed25519
    
    Step 2:  Run from the client to the server:
       $ ssh-copy-id -i ~/.ssh/id_ed25519.pub username@remote
     The "username" is optional and not needed if the same between the
     client machine and remote server.
     "remote" can be a DNS name, IP address, some manually setup lookup
     inside the /etc/hosts or configured in the ~/.ssh/config file.
    
    Step 3: Test that ssh works.  ssh into the remote system, 
       $ ssh username@remote
    Can't help with Windows, but Win10 added ssh-client support and I vaguely recall helping someone set that up last fall. It was the same, but "Windows-like" and there isn't any ssh-copy-id command, so copying the public key has to be done manually in a way that doesn't break things like permissions or adding newlines.

    I install fail2ban on every system with ssh to block brute force attacks. The fail2ban settings address this by default on the default ssh port 22/tcp. There isn't much downside (if any) and it does so much to protect ssh it isn't worth NOT installing. sshd_config can be tweaked for all sorts of other protections, but I only do that for known internet-facing ssh servers.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Beans
    26

    Re: adding raid 1 to existing server. ( what next)

    /dev/md127:
    Version : 1.2
    Creation Time : Sun Jan 10 11:47:32 2021
    Raid Level : raid1
    Array Size : 976630464 (931.39 GiB 1000.07 GB)
    Used Dev Size : 976630464 (931.39 GiB 1000.07 GB)
    Raid Devices : 2
    Total Devices : 2
    Persistence : Superblock is persistent


    Intent Bitmap : Internal


    Update Time : Mon Jan 11 09:31:29 2021
    State : clean
    Active Devices : 2
    Working Devices : 2
    Failed Devices : 0
    Spare Devices : 0


    Name : server1:0 (local to host server1)
    UUID : 9f8bf34d:cec9426b:a9982750:0f71e4cd
    Events : 2508


    Number Major Minor RaidDevice State
    0 8 17 0 active sync /dev/sdb1
    1 8 33 1 active sync /dev/sdc1


    I assume that this means that the raid is setup correctly, if so, I close this post.

    again thanks to everyone for the help , and especially your patience.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: adding raid 1 to existing server. ( what next)

    Quote Originally Posted by tross9 View Post
    I assume that this means that the raid is setup correctly, if so, I close this post.
    Only you close it. Thread tools button near the top.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •