Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Zero clients - Ubuntu Virtual on Enterprise Linux

Beans

Zero clients - Ubuntu Virtual on Enterprise Linux

I am not an expert, neither programmer. I have used OpenSuse and Kubuntu for my desktop for many years. Really like Kubuntu.
    I am building a home server with zero clients. The question is:
    Should the virtual Ubuntu be a server version in order to connect several zero clients or desktop version will do the job?

Thank you !

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Zero clients - Ubuntu Virtual on Enterprise Linux

I have no clue what a 'zero client' is. What is the point of a server that doesn't have any clients?

In general, desktop and server can run all the same network services. There are reasons for each. Setting networking on Ubuntu Server s text config files. Many default apps/tools that desktops get are not loaded. Also, the included drivers on Desktop are vastly expanded. I don't think Server gets any wifi or bluetooth drivers, for example.

What do you mean by 'virtual ubuntu'?
    Last edited by TheFu; December 28th, 2020 at 04:40 AM.

Beans

Zero client is smaller than a thin client. Does not have OS, storage, everything is on the server. Less maintenance. But it is a client, just quieter.
    Ubuntu will be installed as virtual OS onto SuSe Linux Enterprise Desktop.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Let's cut the topology down to just the Ubuntu server -- however you have that set up, as a virtual machine on an OpenSUSE machine or not.

When you say you want an Ubuntu server, what exactly is it that you intend for it to do? What is it serving to these ethereal and ephemeral "Zero Clients"? What do you want to do with them?
    Please read The Forum Rules and The Forum Posting Guidelines

A thing discovered and kept to oneself must be discovered time and again by others. A thing discovered and shared with others need be discovered only the once.