Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bootable USB stick on MacOS

Beans

Bootable USB stick on MacOS

I'm following the instructions on Ubuntu Tutorials for creating a bootable Ubuntu USB stick. For step #2 ("Requirements"), one is supposed to download an Ubuntu ISO file. A link is provided called "Get Ubuntu" to give one download links.

Upon clicking on "Get Ubuntu," there are a number of links but none that mention USB sticks. Which link on this page should be used for downloading an ISO file for a USB stick?

I'm new to Ubuntu--I have a second thread dealing with my attempt to create a bootable USB stick for use on a PC.

I'd appreciate any assistance with this matter. Thanks.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

Re: Bootable USB stick on MacOS

With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags

Beans

Moved to the "Apple Hardware Users" forum.

Beans

Thanks for the reply. That method may be better, but it's too complicated for a simple boy like me. The Ubuntu Tutorial doesn't look too bad for a non-tech person, it just doesn't provide any information about creating a Ubuntu ISO file for a USB.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro

It really isn't that hard, just overwhelmed by all the text there.
    That is after all, a part of the linux journey. (learning)
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Download the ISO file that matches the CPU architecture for the system. Almost nobody creates ther own ISO. I haven't since some time in the 1990s. google "ubuntu download" to find a mirror download website.