Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Installing 20.04

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Beans
    4

    Installing 20.04

    Hi,
    Twice I have failed to install 20.04 - when restarting after several installs I get this message attached below. Can anyone help?

    IMG_20201123_175935460.jpg (64.4 KB)

    I am using a new 1Tb SATA HDD, partitioned during the installation with Swap 8Gb, root for the OS 6Gb, home for the data 250 Gb, and unallocated 700+Gb
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Galiza
    Beans
    3,650
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Installing 20.04

    Root is absurdly low. Give it at least 25-30GB.
    A separated swap partition is no longer needed.

    That said, the above likely has no effect on your issue. Your issue is the graphical interface not loading and the reason is probably related with some specific hardware.
    Please post your hardware specifications, particularly the graphics.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    1,074

    Re: Installing 20.04

    You don't need a swap partition but can use one. 50Gb root, 8Gb swap, rest for /home (assuming desktop use)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Beans
    69

    Re: Installing 20.04

    The optimal size of swap is 1-2 GB for most use cases regardless the amount of RAM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Galiza
    Beans
    3,650
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Installing 20.04

    Quote Originally Posted by mrdc76 View Post
    The optimal size of swap is 1-2 GB for most use cases regardless the amount of RAM.
    Indeed.
    Currently Ubuntu uses swapfile instead of a separated swap partition and the optimal size is set automatically.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Beans
    4

    Re: Installing 20.04

    Thanks CW. Clearly I misunderstood the recommendation elsewhere that I should make Root just sufficient for the OS which I thought was only 4 Gb or so but I should have allowed extra for it to actually operate perhaps.

    My hardware is an old Dell 380 with Pentium4 CPU 3.0 Ghz, RAM 4 Gb (which is why I chose 8Gb of Swap). The BIOS tells me nothing about graphics so I imagine it is very basic and built into the motherboard. It's apparently a 64bit machine.

    I have reloaded 20.04, without trying to be clever by choosing optimum partition sizes and settings myself, and now have the OS running OK. So I intend to try and change the partition sizes and positions to achieve my aim which is to separate the OS from my data to avoid upsets when updating the OS in future, and join up the bits of wasted partition space Having read your later message, I guess I must already have the optimal partitioning so perhaps I should leave it all alone and just hope for the best (and rely on backup) when updating in future? I've taken a picture of the 5 partitions but no joy with copying it to here.
    Anyway, thanks to all for your prompt advice.
    Regards,
    Henry

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •