Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Computer memory issue ...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    432

    Computer memory issue ...

    I seem to be running out of memory. The issue has gotten alot worse since i installed a microsd card...

    this is my top. kswapd can use up to 50% of CPU at any given time, yet KiB Swap is zero ....

    Code:
    top - 07:48:08 up 13 min,  1 user,  load average: 4.76, 2.59, 1.60
    Tasks: 192 total,   2 running, 153 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
    %Cpu(s): 31.8 us,  9.9 sy,  0.5 ni, 51.9 id,  5.5 wa,  0.0 hi,  0.5 si,  0.0 st
    KiB Mem :  1944604 total,    63796 free,  1552500 used,   328308 buff/cache
    KiB Swap:        0 total,        0 free,        0 used.    41836 avail Mem 
    
      PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND
       41 root      20   0       0      0      0 R  12.9  0.0   0:25.37 kswapd0
      174 root      20   0       0      0      0 S   3.2  0.0   0:08.17 mmcqd/0
     1130 dara      20   0 1016904 130296  11296 D   3.2  6.7   1:50.83 chrome
     3692 dara      20   0   44076   3528   2936 R   3.2  0.2   0:00.06 top
     1580 dara      20   0  545492  31332   5872 S   1.6  1.6   0:12.22 chrome
        1 root      20   0  225416   3604   1128 S   0.0  0.2   0:02.71 systemd
        2 root      20   0       0      0      0 S   0.0  0.0   0:00.00 kthreadd
        4 root       0 -20       0      0      0 I   0.0  0.0   0:00.00 kworker/0:+
        5 root      20   0       0      0      0 I   0.0  0.0   0:00.19 kworker/u8+
        6 root       0 -20       0      0      0 I   0.0  0.0   0:00.00 mm_percpu_+
        7 root      20   0       0      0      0 S   0.0  0.0   0:00.14 ksoftirqd/0
        8 root      20   0       0      0      0 I   0.0  0.0   0:00.82 rcu_sched
        9 root      20   0       0      0      0 I   0.0  0.0   0:00.00 rcu_bh
       10 root      rt   0       0      0      0 S   0.0  0.0   0:00.00 migration/0
       11 root      rt   0       0      0      0 S   0.0  0.0   0:00.00 watchdog/0
       12 root      20   0       0      0      0 S   0.0  0.0   0:00.00 cpuhp/0
       13 root      20   0       0      0      0 S   0.0  0.0   0:00.00 cpuhp/1
       14 root      rt   0       0      0      0 S   0.0  0.0   0:00.00 watchdog/1
    and my /proc/meminfo

    Code:
    dara@dara-HP-Stream-Laptop-11-y0XX:~/Desktop$ cat /proc/meminfo
    MemTotal:        1944604 kB
    MemFree:          153752 kB
    MemAvailable:     677792 kB
    Buffers:           40200 kB
    Cached:           709140 kB
    SwapCached:            0 kB
    Active:          1179528 kB
    Inactive:         432212 kB
    Active(anon):     864828 kB
    Inactive(anon):   113492 kB
    Active(file):     314700 kB
    Inactive(file):   318720 kB
    Unevictable:          48 kB
    Mlocked:              48 kB
    SwapTotal:             0 kB
    SwapFree:              0 kB
    Dirty:               216 kB
    Writeback:             0 kB
    AnonPages:        862480 kB
    Mapped:           270828 kB
    Shmem:            115920 kB
    Slab:             102772 kB
    SReclaimable:      43524 kB
    SUnreclaim:        59248 kB
    KernelStack:        7472 kB
    PageTables:        35944 kB
    NFS_Unstable:          0 kB
    Bounce:                0 kB
    WritebackTmp:          0 kB
    CommitLimit:      972300 kB
    Committed_AS:    4757160 kB
    VmallocTotal:   34359738367 kB
    VmallocUsed:           0 kB
    VmallocChunk:          0 kB
    HardwareCorrupted:     0 kB
    AnonHugePages:         0 kB
    ShmemHugePages:        0 kB
    ShmemPmdMapped:        0 kB
    CmaTotal:              0 kB
    CmaFree:               0 kB
    HugePages_Total:       0
    HugePages_Free:        0
    HugePages_Rsvd:        0
    HugePages_Surp:        0
    Hugepagesize:       2048 kB
    DirectMap4k:      202816 kB
    DirectMap2M:     1798144 kB

    I don't sem to be able to get much out of dmesg

    Also, how do i unmount a microsd card? I can access it no problem so presumably it's mounted. Yet when i do

    Code:
    dara@dara-HP-Stream-Laptop-11-y0XX:~/Desktop$ sudo blkid
    /dev/mmcblk0p1: UUID="42EC-0B92" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="EFI System Partition" PARTUUID="56c62bfb-2ace-40f5-842b-56d170dc18b1"
    /dev/mmcblk0p2: UUID="76e2b547-702d-4386-a868-9fedbc97bb53" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="51735fd3-6d98-4c40-8b16-28fdcb4a318e"
    /dev/mmcblk1: LABEL="microsd" UUID="0e36cfc3-c8fe-4c2a-b85b-4267fb9b8f7f" TYPE="ext4"
    /dev/mmcblk0: PTUUID="52c3523d-707f-4f3d-9321-0d620c9526c4" PTTYPE="gpt"
    
    dara@dara-HP-Stream-Laptop-11-y0XX:~/Desktop$ umount /dev/mmcblk1
    umount: /dev/mmcblk1: not mounted.
    microsd is named but doesn't seem to be mounted for some reason ...

    Code:
    dara@dara-HP-Stream-Laptop-11-y0XX:~/Desktop$ df
    Filesystem     1K-blocks     Used Available Use% Mounted on
    udev              949848        0    949848   0% /dev
    tmpfs             194464     1408    193056   1% /run
    /dev/mmcblk0p2  29407228 26584044   1306336  96% /
    tmpfs             972300   104688    867612  11% /dev/shm
    tmpfs               5120        4      5116   1% /run/lock
    tmpfs             972300        0    972300   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
    /dev/mmcblk0p1    523248     8596    514652   2% /boot/efi
    tmpfs             194460       24    194436   1% /run/user/1000
    Like i said, the problem seems to be exacerbated when i installed the microsd card. Also, when i open multiple tabs in chrome. Does each tab run as it's own process or something ?
    Last edited by dbee; November 13th, 2020 at 09:20 AM.
    I wish my computer would do what I want it to do - not what I tell it to do.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    29,682
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Computer memory issue ...

    Thread moved to General Help for a more appropriate fit.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    432

    Re: Computer memory issue ...

    I was getting a boot error with my system so i must have uncommented /mnt/microsd in /etc/fstab

    Code:
    #UUID=0e36cfc3-c8fe-4c2a-b85b-4267fb9b8f7f /mnt/microsd/	  ext4	  discard,noatime,errors=remount-ro	  0	  1
    How come i'm able to access my microsd card without mounting it specifically in /etc/fstab/ ? Is it because i named the volume ?
    I wish my computer would do what I want it to do - not what I tell it to do.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    432

    Re: Computer memory issue ...

    I ran a few

    Code:
    du -h | sort -hr | more
    and cleaned out some of the larger directories on my harddrive. Now i'm at 90% capacity.

    computer doesn't seem to freeze when i keep chrome at 1 tab ...

    when i don't, i get this from dmesg

    Code:
       29.277137] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): br-5e87b27037b9: link is not ready
    [   29.643540] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): br-6b997a73235d: link is not ready
    [   29.952461] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): br-b3a964a0eb0e: link is not ready
    [  645.722980] perf: interrupt took too long (2504 > 2500), lowering kernel.perf_event_max_sample_rate to 79750
    [  784.530207] perf: interrupt took too long (3134 > 3130), lowering kernel.perf_event_max_sample_rate to 63750
    [ 1291.406858] perf: interrupt took too long (3942 > 3917), lowering kernel.perf_event_max_sample_rate to 50500
    [ 1919.866646] perf: interrupt took too long (4935 > 4927), lowering kernel.perf_event_max_sample_rate to 40500
    [ 2390.342387] perf: interrupt took too long (6171 > 6168), lowering kernel.perf_event_max_sample_rate to 32250
    I wish my computer would do what I want it to do - not what I tell it to do.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Computer memory issue ...

    I don't see any swap enabled. fix that. The swapon -s command will check it. So will the free -hm command.

    A system with only 2GB of RAM needs some swap. If you use a modern browser, make it 4.1G swap size.

    You can google how-to add swap. It could be just that old swap was disabled by you somehow. It would be very odd if o swap was setup during install.
    Last edited by TheFu; November 13th, 2020 at 08:34 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    1,898

    Re: Computer memory issue ...

    Could upgrade the ram (if possible). It's pretty cheap and will really help the system

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Galiza
    Beans
    4,010
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Computer memory issue ...

    Quote Originally Posted by ActionParsnip View Post
    Could upgrade the ram (if possible).
    No. not possible in a HP Stream 11. That's pretty much the definition of "disposable laptop". I should know, I have one.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Computer memory issue ...

    Quote Originally Posted by CelticWarrior View Post
    No. not possible in a HP Stream 11. That's pretty much the definition of "disposable laptop". I should know, I have one.
    I had a chromebook running xUbuntu like that - 2G of RAM soldered onto the motherboard. It was crashing due to low RAM. Changing the swap file to be 4.1G provided feedback so I could close programs before no ram was left and the system crashed. I had to learn to recognize when low RAM was happening. It came with a 16G SSD, so making the swap huge wasn't an option. I also enabled swap to be compressed. I think zswap is the default now, but it would be worth checking that as well.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    432

    Re: Computer memory issue ...

    So basically I seem to have unmounted the swap file in my system when i was editing the /etc/fstab file.

    To fix it I added this to /etc/fstab ...

    Code:
    /swapfile        none            swap    sw              0       0
    Then i remade swap, turned swapon and mounted it

    Code:
    root@dara-HP-Stream-Laptop-11-y0XX:/etc# sudo mkswap /swapfile
    mkswap: /swapfile: warning: wiping old swap signature.
    
    Setting up swapspace version 1, size = 1.3 GiB (1425670144 bytes)
    no label, UUID=23390c3c-eec5-428b-abd7-83e447016d52
    
    root@dara-HP-Stream-Laptop-11-y0XX:/etc# sudo swapon /swapfile
    
    root@dara-HP-Stream-Laptop-11-y0XX:/etc# mount -a
    
    root@dara-HP-Stream-Laptop-11-y0XX:/etc# free -h
    
                  total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
    Mem:           1.9G        1.1G         95M        160M        680M        465M
    Swap:          1.3G          0B        1.3G
    Seems to have been an easy fix all things considered
    I wish my computer would do what I want it to do - not what I tell it to do.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    432

    Re: Computer memory issue ...

    Quote Originally Posted by TheFu View Post
    I don't see any swap enabled. fix that. The swapon -s command will check it. So will the free -hm command.

    A system with only 2GB of RAM needs some swap. If you use a modern browser, make it 4.1G swap size.

    You can google how-to add swap. It could be just that old swap was disabled by you somehow. It would be very odd if o swap was setup during install.
    I'll see how 1.3 GB does with regards to the swap partition. I barely have any hd left, so 4 GB would be a stretch.

    Need to get a new travel laptop. Pronto.

    Why have laptop prices gone way up btw? Is there a mem or cpu shortage?
    I wish my computer would do what I want it to do - not what I tell it to do.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •