Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Ubuntu and Linux - Trouble with installation due to Intel RST

Beans

New to Ubuntu and Linux - Trouble with installation due to Intel RST

Hi, as the title says, I am completely new to both Ubuntu and Linux as a whole. I decided to try out using Ubuntu on my HP laptop. However, I am not able to install it due to RST. If I understand correctly, I should go to BIOS > Advanced Settings and the switch SATA operation mode from RST to AHCI.

But the real problem is this: HP doesn't allow access to Advanced Settings in BIOS on it's consumer-grade laptops.

What should I do?

Side Note: I also tried installing Pop_OS! on the same laptop and it worked without any problems.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: New to Ubuntu and Linux - Trouble with installation due to Intel RST

Keep using Pop?

If you have at least 4G of RAM and a Core2 Duo CPU or faster, use Virtualbox under some other OS to gain that beginner knowledge of Linux. There must be 1000 how-to examples on youtube and in blogs with the settings.

If you check these forums, seems that HP hardware always needs some extra help to work. If it isn't the BIOS then it is their EFI implementation. Always something.

Beans

use Virtualbox under some other OS to gain that beginner knowledge of Linux.
    I don't really need the laptop rn, I don't travel much these days because of covid, so I can just use my desktop. So I figured I would put the laptop to some use.

Keep using Pop?
    I can live with that. But I wonder why it had no issues during instalation when Ubuntu had. It is based on Ubuntu after all, right?

Well at least I know not to buy HP hardware.
    Last edited by germaninhungary; November 10th, 2020 at 06:27 PM.

tea for one is offline Iced Almond Soy Ubuntu, No Foam
    Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Quote Originally Posted by germaninhungary View Post