Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: firefox is now not allowing to switch windows with middle mouse click - how can i fix

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    ISRAEL!
    Beans
    258

    firefox is now not allowing to switch windows with middle mouse click - how can i fix

    two days ago after updating the system i started to notice that the middle button of the mouse does not switch windows in firefox anymore.
    instead it opens a new tab.

    can you please tell me how it can be fixed?
    thanks
    my desktop computer has Ubuntu 20.10 64bit alongside windows 10 as dual boot

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Galiza
    Beans
    2,881
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: firefox is now not allowing to switch windows with middle mouse click - how can i

    Middle-button never did and still does nothing on mine.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    51.8° N 5.8° E
    Beans
    5,538
    Distro
    Xubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: firefox is now not allowing to switch windows with middle mouse click - how can i

    Type about:config in your adress bar, hit enter and search for middle. Maybe one of those options helps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    ISRAEL!
    Beans
    258

    Re: firefox is now not allowing to switch windows with middle mouse click - how can i

    when clicking in the area with the middle button it was switching windows on my ubuntu
    a very comfortable thing
    2020-10-27_13-35.png
    my desktop computer has Ubuntu 20.10 64bit alongside windows 10 as dual boot

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    ISRAEL!
    Beans
    258

    Re: firefox is now not allowing to switch windows with middle mouse click - how can i

    i will check your suggestion now
    edit:
    i don't know what to choose in "about:config" while searching for "middle"
    if you know for sure let me know

    thank you!
    my desktop computer has Ubuntu 20.10 64bit alongside windows 10 as dual boot

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Beans
    146
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: firefox is now not allowing to switch windows with middle mouse click - how can i

    Quote Originally Posted by ronjjjg8885 View Post
    two days ago after updating the system i started to notice that the middle button of the mouse does not switch windows in firefox anymore.
    instead it opens a new tab.

    can you please tell me how it can be fixed?
    thanks
    Check Preferences > General > Tabs heading and see if you have "Open links in tabs instead of new windows" enabled.

    You may need to restart Firefox.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Al Ain
    Beans
    10,139

    Re: firefox is now not allowing to switch windows with middle mouse click - how can i

    Hmm, what is wrong with Ctrl Tab?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    ISRAEL!
    Beans
    258

    Re: firefox is now not allowing to switch windows with middle mouse click - how can i

    thank you but this is not what i meant

    i think the reason for the change is the window manager. not firefox itself. but i'm not sure.
    Last edited by ronjjjg8885; 4 Weeks Ago at 12:26 PM.
    my desktop computer has Ubuntu 20.10 64bit alongside windows 10 as dual boot

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •