Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DHCP broken 18.04. Static IP just fine. Just can't get DHCP as a client.

Beans

DHCP broken 18.04. Static IP just fine. Just can't get DHCP as a client.

Pretty much the title says it all.

1. If I try to connect to my router with DHCP, it won't work. This is true for both Ether cable OR Wifi.
    2. My router works fine. All other devices I own works fine with the router for DHCP.
    3. My laptop (where the problem is) the adapter/wifi works fine IF I boot from a memory chip (clean OS). It's just in 18.04
    4. At one time the DHCP worked in this 18.04 install, but I did "something" along the way and now it doesn't.
    5. Setting any connection on Static works just fine.
    6. I can't get on (of course) at any public hotspot.

I'm not a newbie or an expert. Just experienced. It's a weird problem. Need help. It's very annoying.
    Any pointers?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: DHCP broken 18.04. Static IP just fine. Just can't get DHCP as a client.

Welcome.

Please describe that "something".

Beans

Check the network routing with tcpdump in one terminal:
    $ sudo apt install tcpdump
    $ sudo tcpdump -nlX host ip.address.of.router and port 67

Then run dhclient from another terminal window:
    $ ip link show
    $ dhclient nameofethernetdevice

Look at the error messages and google them for enlightenment.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Did you do your static ip with netplan or the gui? The proper netplan for a desktop to use the gui is critical.

Code:
    cat /etc/netplan/01-netcfg.yaml
    network:
     version: 2
     renderer: NetworkManager
    That file could be named whatever you named it.

If it looks like this then you are getting your dhcp, just don't know it because it isn't reporting to the gui. Replace interface name with yours of course.

Code:
    network:
     renderer: networkd
     ethernets:
      enp?s0:
       dhcp4: true

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by Tadaen_Sylvermane View Post