Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: xrandr issue after upgrade to 20.04

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Beans
    3

    xrandr issue after upgrade to 20.04

    I just upgraded to Ubuntu 20.04.01 and now my monitor resolution option isn't working

    My laptop screen died some time ago so I started using it mirrored with an external monitor. The laptop uses a 4:3 screen, so I configured a 16:9 resolution option following these instructions: http://ubuntuhandbook.org/index.php/...buntu-desktop/

    It worked, though always a little goofy. I would pick the 16:9 in display settings and click "apply", then the test screen would show me the original 4:3 so if i clicked "revert settings" it would go to 16:9. sometimes it took a few tries, and I always had to do it after rebooting. But when I upgraded, it will not work at all. I pick the 16:9 and click apply. It shows me the 4:3 screen still, but whether i pick "revert" or "keep changes" it stays at 4:3. The other option in Display settings is a lower resolution 4:3 and that does work.

    This is what the last 2 lines of the .profile file look like

    xrandr --newmode "1600x900_60.00" 118.25 1600 1696 1856 2112 900 903 908 934 -hsync +vsync
    xrandr --addmode eDP1 "1600x900_60.00"



    Any insights or just wild ideas to try would be much appreciated.
    Last edited by stromek; 3 Weeks Ago at 01:01 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Magdalena,New Mexico,USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: xrandr issue after upgrade to 20.04

    @stromek...

    when you followed the xrandr instructions from the referenced web page, did you insert your OWN values or just copy/paste from web page ???
    is your display really labeled eDP1...the same as in example ???

    when you did the xrandr "newmode" & "addmode" commands did you get any errors ???

    it would help if you posted the output of
    Code:
    xrandr
    it is also helpful if you post the command outputs in "code tags"....use the adv reply button, select the # character from menu, insert
    your values between the #s....it helps to stand out from background...like this...
    Code:
    [tommy@tommy ~]$ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1440 x 900, maximum 4096 x 4096
    VGA-1 connected 1440x900+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 370mm x 230mm
       1440x900      59.90*+
       1280x1024     60.02  
       1280x960      60.00  
       1366x768      59.79  
       1360x768      60.02  
       1280x800      74.93    59.91  
       1152x864      75.00  
       1280x768      74.89    59.99  
       1280x720      60.00  
       1024x768      75.03    70.07    60.00  
       1024x576      59.93  
       800x600       72.19    75.00    60.32    56.25  
       848x480       60.00  
       640x480       75.00    72.81    59.94  
       720x400       70.08
    tommy
    Registered Linux User # 529389
    Arch Linux, MX 18.3 Linux
    my personal web page http://users.gilanet.com/~tfrost
    "If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space"--Unknown

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    I think I'm here! Maybe?
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: xrandr issue after upgrade to 20.04

    There is a thread at https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread....8#post13988638 which, though not about quite the same problem, may be helpful to you.

    There are commands shown which could help you add resolution modelines if needed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Beans
    3

    Re: xrandr issue after upgrade to 20.04

    Yes i used the instructions with my own values.

    Code:
    person@ad:~$ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1024 x 768, maximum 32767 x 32767
    eDP1 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 310mm x 170mm
       1600x900      60.01 +  59.82  
       1440x900      59.89  
       1400x900      59.96    59.88  
       1368x768      60.00    59.88    59.85  
       1360x768      59.80    59.96  
       1280x800      59.81    59.91  
       1152x864      60.00  
       1280x720      59.86    60.00    59.74  
       1024x768      60.00* 
       1024x576      60.00    59.90    59.82  
       960x540       60.00    59.63    59.82  
       800x600       60.32    56.25  
       864x486       60.00    59.92    59.57  
       800x450       60.00  
       640x480       59.94  
       720x405       59.51    60.00    58.99  
       640x360       59.84    59.32    60.00  
       1600x900_60.00  59.95  
    DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    DP2 connected primary 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
       1024x768      60.00* 
       800x600       60.32    56.25  
       848x480       60.00  
       640x480       59.94  
       1600x900_60.00  59.95  
    HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    person@ad:~$ cvt 1600 900
    # 1600x900 59.95 Hz (CVT 1.44M9) hsync: 55.99 kHz; pclk: 118.25 MHz
    Modeline "1600x900_60.00"  118.25  1600 1696 1856 2112  900 903 908 934 -hsync +vsync
    Well I thought i'd just try it all over again, mostly because i couldn't remember about any errors since i originally set it up probably 6 or 8 months ago. Add lo and behold an error indeed.

    Code:
    person@ad:~$ sudo xrandr --newmode "1600x900_60.00"  118.25  1600 1696 1856 2112  900 903 908 934 -hsync +vsync
    [sudo] password for person: 
    X Error of failed request:  BadName (named color or font does not exist)
      Major opcode of failed request:  140 (RANDR)
      Minor opcode of failed request:  16 (RRCreateMode)
      Serial number of failed request:  41
      Current serial number in output stream:  41
    This sort of rings a bell from before too, but how did i fix it? no idea.
    I checked out the other thread @ajgreeny suggested and here's my driver info, but i don't know what any next steps would be...the weird thing is it USED to work (more or less). ugh.

    Code:
    person@ad:~$ inxi -G
    Graphics:
      Device-1: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics driver: i915 v: kernel 
      Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: i915 
      resolution: 1024x768~60Hz, 1024x768~60Hz 
      OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 4400 (HSW GT2) 
      v: 4.5 Mesa 20.0.8

    thanks for taking the time to help!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Magdalena,New Mexico,USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: xrandr issue after upgrade to 20.04

    @stromek...

    the output of xrandr shows your graphics card is capable of 1600x900 resolution, but something is forcing it to 1024x768....
    you might try forcing the kernel to load the generic nouveau driver instead of the Intel i915 driver it is using now...
    I had a similar problem when Nvidia dropped support for my legacy graphics card, changing the driver to nouveau fixed it...

    you will need to edit the kernel parameters to load nouveau....if you don't know how to do that, go here...

    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Kernel/KernelBootParameters

    you will add nouveau to the end of the line starting with linux.....then reboot to see if you can now see the new resolution...
    if it works, you will need to make it permanent following the 2nd part of instructions on the web page referenced above...

    good luck

    tommy
    Last edited by NM5TF; 3 Weeks Ago at 06:06 AM. Reason: spelling
    Registered Linux User # 529389
    Arch Linux, MX 18.3 Linux
    my personal web page http://users.gilanet.com/~tfrost
    "If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space"--Unknown

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •