Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: NFS shares will not mount on client

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Beans
    569

    NFS shares will not mount on client

    I am on Ubuntu 18.04 x64 using an NFS V3 configuration.

    I had a system disk crash and had to restore from a backup. Everything is fine except my NFS shares. I have a LAN wiith two PC's on it. The NFS host is named cp2. I have been running this setup for years (I can't remember when I started, but it must have been at least 12.04 and was probably earlier). After the restore of my backup, I can not mount my NFS shares. First I issue
    Code:
    sudo exportfs -ra
    sudo systemctl restart nfs-kernel-server
    on the NFS host. Then I issue
    Code:
    sudo mount -all
    on the client PC. In the past this would mount the shares and all was okay. Now when I issue
    Code:
    sudo mount -all
    I get the following message
    Code:
    mount.nfs: Connection timed out
    There has been no change to my network since the backup was taken. If I try to ping cp2 from the client, I get
    Code:
    Temporary failure in name resolution
    I can ping URL's successfully, both by name and by address, i.e., nnn.nnn.nnn.nnn. I am at a loss as what to do next.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Metro Boston
    Beans
    15,399
    Distro
    Kubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: NFS shares will not mount on client

    The simplest solution for the name resolution problem is to add an entry in /etc/hosts like this:

    Code:
    10.10.10.10        cp2
    replacing 10.10.10.10 with the approrpriate IP address.

    Try running mount with the "-v" (verbose) switch.

    Code:
    sudo mount -v etc.
    If this still doesn't solve the problem, let's see a representative NFS entry from /etc/fstab.
    If you ask for help, do not abandon your request. Please have the courtesy to check for responses and thank the people who helped you.

    Blog · Linode System Administration Guides · Android Apps for Ubuntu Users

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    21,690
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: NFS shares will not mount on client

    Did you also restart the rpcbind service first?

    I ask because a few weeks ago, my 16.04 NFS clients and NFS servers had troubles that seemed similar after an update. I never figured out the exact issue, but restarting rpcbind before nfs-server made it work.

    You can always use the IP address for NFS mounts, provided the server allows that.

    May be helpful to see the "exports" lines on the server and however you mount on the client. I use autofs for NFS on the clients, since fstab isn't always good with unavailable storage devices and the systemd-automount tools don't seem to remove unused mounts.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Beans
    569

    Re: NFS shares will not mount on client

    Quote Originally Posted by SeijiSensei View Post
    The simplest solution for the name resolution problem is to add an entry in /etc/hosts like this:

    Code:
    10.10.10.10        cp2
    replacing 10.10.10.10 with the approrpriate IP address.

    Try running mount with the "-v" (verbose) switch.

    Code:
    sudo mount -v etc.
    If this still doesn't solve the problem, let's see a representative NFS entry from /etc/fstab.
    I added the address to the /etc/host file. I then ran the mount command as you suggested. Here are the results:
    Code:
    sudo mount -v -all
    [sudo] password for butch: 
    none                     : ignored
    /media/Data_Three        : already mounted
    /media/Data_Two          : already mounted
    /media/Data_One          : already mounted
    /media/Data              : already mounted
    /media/butch/Ubuntu_Data_Back: already mounted
    mount.nfs: timeout set for Thu Aug 27 12:50:06 2020
    mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=3,addr=192.168.1.102'
    mount.nfs: prog 100003, trying vers=3, prot=6
    mount.nfs: portmap query failed: RPC: Remote system error - No route to host
    mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=3,addr=192.168.1.102'
    mount.nfs: prog 100003, trying vers=3, prot=6
    mount.nfs: portmap query failed: RPC: Remote system error - No route to host
    mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=3,addr=192.168.1.102'
    mount.nfs: prog 100003, trying vers=3, prot=6
    mount.nfs: portmap query failed: RPC: Remote system error - No route to host
    mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=3,addr=192.168.1.102'
    mount.nfs: prog 100003, trying vers=3, prot=6
    mount.nfs: portmap query failed: RPC: Remote system error - No route to host
    mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=3,addr=192.168.1.102'
    mount.nfs: prog 100003, trying vers=3, prot=6
    mount.nfs: portmap query failed: RPC: Remote system error - No route to host
    mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=3,addr=192.168.1.102'
    mount.nfs: prog 100003, trying vers=3, prot=6
    mount.nfs: portmap query failed: RPC: Remote system error - No route to host
    mount.nfs: trying text-based options 'vers=3,addr=192.168.1.102'
    mount.nfs: prog 100003, trying vers=3, prot=6
    ^Z
    [3]+  Stopped                 sudo mount -v -all
    I then tried to ping cp2 using its address and received the following:
    Code:
    ping 192.168.1.102
    PING 192.168.1.102 (192.168.1.102) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From 192.168.1.162 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.162 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.162 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.162 icmp_seq=4 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.162 icmp_seq=5 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.162 icmp_seq=6 Destination Host Unreachable
    ^Z
    [5]+  Stopped                 ping 192.168.1.102
    Finally, I tried the following:
    Code:
    nmap -Pn 192.168.1.102
    
    Starting Nmap 7.60 ( https://nmap.org ) at 2020-08-27 13:13 EDT
    Nmap scan report for cp2 (192.168.1.102)
    Host is up (0.047s latency).
    All 1000 scanned ports on cp2 (192.168.1.102) are filtered
    
    Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 5.89 seconds
    I also restarted rpcbind on the server in the order that TheFu suggested. So all I have ascertained (as far as my limited knowledge goes) to this point is that my NFS server is on the network, but it is unreacheable.

    One final point. I checked /run/resolvconf/resolv.conf, and it contains the following:
    Code:
     Dynamic resolv.conf(5) file for glibc resolver(3) generated by resolvconf(8)
    #     DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE BY HAND -- YOUR CHANGES WILL BE OVERWRITTEN
    # 127.0.0.53 is the systemd-resolved stub resolver.
    # run "systemd-resolve --status" to see details about the actual nameservers.
    
    nameserver 127.0.0.53
    search triad.rr.com[/QUOTE]  triad.rr.com is an old URL.  How can I change this?  I also ran the following:[QUOTE]systemd-resolve --status
    Global
              DNS Domain: triad.rr.com
              DNSSEC NTA: 10.in-addr.arpa
                          16.172.in-addr.arpa
                          168.192.in-addr.arpa
                          17.172.in-addr.arpa
                          18.172.in-addr.arpa
                          19.172.in-addr.arpa
                          20.172.in-addr.arpa
                          21.172.in-addr.arpa
                          22.172.in-addr.arpa
                          23.172.in-addr.arpa
                          24.172.in-addr.arpa
                          25.172.in-addr.arpa
                          26.172.in-addr.arpa
                          27.172.in-addr.arpa
                          28.172.in-addr.arpa
                          29.172.in-addr.arpa
                          30.172.in-addr.arpa
                          31.172.in-addr.arpa
                          corp
                          d.f.ip6.arpa
                          home
                          internal
                          intranet
                          lan
                          local
                          private
                          test
    
    Link 3 (eno1)
          Current Scopes: none
           LLMNR setting: yes
    MulticastDNS setting: no
          DNSSEC setting: no
        DNSSEC supported: no
    
    Link 2 (enp6s0)
          Current Scopes: DNS
           LLMNR setting: yes
    MulticastDNS setting: no
          DNSSEC setting: no
        DNSSEC supported: no
             DNS Servers: 192.168.1.1
                          2606:a000:1010:c353:6238:e0ff:feb4:fd8
              DNS Domain: ~.
                          triad.rr.com
    So, where to next?
    Last edited by deadflowr; August 27th, 2020 at 08:08 PM. Reason: switched tags from quote to code

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    21,690
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: NFS shares will not mount on client

    Code:
    ping 192.168.1.102
    PING 192.168.1.102 (192.168.1.102) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From 192.168.1.162 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.162 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.162 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
    ping 192.168.1.102 is NOT working! You have a network connectivity issue on 1 or both systems. Nothing to do with NFS. NFS is just a symptom.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Beans
    569

    Re: NFS shares will not mount on client

    Quote Originally Posted by TheFu View Post
    Code:
    ping 192.168.1.102
    PING 192.168.1.102 (192.168.1.102) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From 192.168.1.162 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.162 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 192.168.1.162 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
    ping 192.168.1.102 is NOT working! You have a network connectivity issue on 1 or both systems. Nothing to do with NFS. NFS is just a symptom.
    Okay, I found the problem. For some reason (and I do not know why) the address of cp2 is now 192.168.1.111. The address is manual, not automatic, so DHCP is not a factor. Once I changed the hosts file and fstab
    sudo mount -all
    mounted the two NFS shares. The 192.168.1.111 seems familiar, so I must have set that after I took the last backup. I have learned several lessons with this issue. Thanks for your suggestions and observations. One thing I need to do is back up the system drive more frequently. I'll close this thread as solved with many thanks to you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    21,690
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: NFS shares will not mount on client

    Quote Originally Posted by cscj01 View Post
    I have learned several lessons with this issue. Thanks for your suggestions and observations. One thing I need to do is back up the system drive more frequently. I'll close this thread as solved with many thanks to you.
    Team effort. If you hadn't posted the commands AND output, we would probably have wasted a tonne of time on completely unrelated stuff. We all have blinders from time to time. Thanks for not making getting data like a dentist trying to find and pull a rotten tooth.

    I suspect you are using dhcp still, btw. Static IPs don't change. With netplan, it is easy to leave dhcp enabled and not realize it. Best not to leave network-manager in control of anything.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Beans
    242
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: NFS shares will not mount on client

    I don't know why, but the folks at Canonical have really screwed up name resolution. Every time I do an install of focal, I now have to do the following:

    cd /etc
    sudo rm -rf /etc/resolv.conf
    sudo ln -s /run/systemd/resolve/resolv.conf

    then, I go into hosts and define all of the machines on my lan, like this:

    192.168.1.2 main
    192.168.1.3 blackbox
    192.168.1.4 whitebox

    ...etc.

    Hope that helps.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •