Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NVME on Ubuntu - general questions

Beans

NVME on Ubuntu - general questions

Hi Guys,

Looking at buying a Seagate firecuda 520 gen 4 pcie SSD and 2 x Samsung 970 Evo Plus SSDs - these will be simply used as cache data drives for a particular application (PixInsight).

The o/s booting drive will be a Crucial BX500 256GB SSD - so that shouldn't have any issues.

Some quick googling tells me that NVME PCI-e has been supported in the Linux kernel since v3.3. Will these drives work out of the box after initial O/S install, or will I have to do additional things to get them working. If the latter, what will I need to do?

Motherboard will be a Gigabyte Aorus Master x570, which will have the BIOS updated to the latest version before O/S install.

NVME drives may have older firmware installed upon purchasing, I'm really new to NVME and don't know much about the tech, so not sure if it's possible to update the firmware before having them in a working O/S install.

Any advice and help appreciated.

Cheers,

Dave

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: NVME on Ubuntu - general questions

My Samsung NVMe had a ISO update file in the Samsung support site. It looked like an old DOS screen, was only for my model and only updated it to version it was as a download.
    I believe the Windows app supports more, but the Linux version of the app in the commercial section never worked for updating my old SSD.

How to update Samsung:
    https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Solid_state_drive
    https://www.samsung.com/semiconducto...ownload/tools/

to see details (may have to install nvme):
    sudo nvme list
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

x570 is really new. Almost still bleeding edge.