Thread: Looking for advice from a professional pentester/ethical hacker

Beans

Looking for advice from a professional pentester/ethical hacker

Hello everyone...

I'm hoping there's a few professionals lurking about the place. I'm in need of some advice. Without exhausting this thread with my background, I'm a fairly experienced, self-taught, programmer. Back in the 2000's I was able to work professionally programming company specific software and got my feet wet. I now work professionally as a PLC tech and my hobbies include embedded projects for fun.

Having said that...

I must live under a rock because I really had no idea there was such a position as 'ethical hacker'. I started looking into it and took a couple of online courses to sort of get a understanding of what the job is and learned all the basic 'attacks'. It left me scratching my head though. The classes I've taken thus far have left me with the feeling I've taken more of a 'intro to photoshop' class than a hacking class. The classes seemed like I was learning to step on the shoulders of another's effort than learning to actually become so adept that I myself could find and exploit a weakness.

Then I stumbled across the derogatory term 'script kiddie'. That term very much described the path I was taking. I was learning the defined action of the attacks, but still know very little as to what is actually being done other than some very rudimentary condensed description from the teachers.

Then while browsing other forums and comments, it seems like these tools are what professional pentesters are using. Software like Nexpose seem very powerful for discovering vulnerabilities in a network. So again, I feel like I'm not quite sure where to go on from here... but I have a couple ideas.