Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: User software access

Beans

User software access

I am new to Ubuntu.

We had a few old laptops in various states of not working well. After harvesting from a few I have a laptop that is working perfectly. I am actually using it to type here. (HA!! Throwing Traumatic Brain Injury off the cliff on a mountain highway!!)

I installed 16.04, updated, added some software and then added a non-sudo user.

I logged in to see if everything was working and none of the third party software is loaded.

I am guessing there is a permissions issue or I installed incorrectly.

I am not sure I am understanding how the installation structure works. I have read information on users, groups, super users and am missing something obvious. So confused . . .

How do I give the new user access to use all loaded software without giving access to add or delete software?

T

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: User software access

First: Why 16.04? It's over 4 years old and less than a year from end of life. Better use 20.04 or (if you really want things to be rock solid) 18.04. If the hardware is too weak for 20.04 (hardware requirements haven't changed much), use one of the lighter flavours, like Xubuntu or Ubuntu Mate. And if you now suddenly decide to use 20.04 after all, don't upgrade, but fresh install. It's faster and you haven't done anything yet that could be lost.

What kind of third-party software do you mean? Normally, we install stuff from the official repositories and that should be installed system-wide, so that all users can use it. Have you tried to install stuff manually?

Beans