Thread: Widget for To-Do Tasks on desktop?

Beans

Question Widget for To-Do Tasks on desktop?

Hi

I'm new to linux and Ubuntu ... I've looked around but cant find anything as yet, are there any decent widgets for the desktop that are for to-do/tasks? In Windows I used apps such as Rainlender widget ... the is able a .deb file available for Ubuntu on Rainlender website, but when I try install it, I get an error message ... maybe I'm installing it wrong, I'm not sure ... in case anyone interested ... here's a link ...
    https://www.rainlendar.net/cms/index...load&Itemid=30

But I'd really like to know if there are any decent tasks widgets out there that can be used.
    I'm currently using KDE via Kubuntu, but it seems widgets work cross/flavors ... running latest Ubuntu v20.04

TIA

Beans

Re: Widget for To-Do Tasks on desktop?

What is the message. Seems to just extract a set of pre-compiled files from the Rainlendar-Lite-2.15.4-amd64.tar.bz2 on the website.

If you run the rainlendar2 binary in the folder that extract from it, what are you shown? This isn't a deb so you may need to satisfy dependencies manually. I checked for a PPA on Launchpad and there isn't one (which is a shame).

Running the binary from the terminal may help as you can see the output(s) which can help diagnose issues.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Linux isn't like Windows. Don't go looking for software on the web and downloading packages, especially when you are really new. Doing that is a good way to break your system, break APT dependencies, and end up with a system that cannot be patched. The only answer will be to reinstall. The problems usually take a few months before they show up.

So ... use whatever package manager front-end tool you like. Software-Center, Synaptic, apt, apt-get, aptitude ... and search for packages with "to-do" or "task" in the description.