Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Not sure if I have x386 cpu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    3

    Not sure if I have x386 cpu

    I am currently running server edition of 18.04 on dual cpu Intel Xeon CPU E3110 @ 3.00 GHz, 64bit. There is a caution about upgrading to 20.04. Don't want to do anything before I'm sure I will be ok, since this is a production machine. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    11,525
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Not sure if I have x386 cpu

    Code:
    uname -a
    will tell you if running 32-bit or 64-bit.

    32-bit will show as i686
    64-bit will show as x86_64
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    top of the mountain
    Beans
    39
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Not sure if I have x386 cpu

    This should ID your processor.

    Code:
     cat /sys/devices/cpu/caps/pmu_name

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    552

    Re: Not sure if I have x386 cpu

    Might running 32b version of 18.04, 20.04 does not have 32b, which is why the warning. Have at least three years before needing to upgrade, which might need a new install to 64 bit version.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Not sure if I have x386 cpu

    According to the ISO bug tracker Ubuntu 18.04 Server edition does not have a 32 bit version. The Flavours of Ubuntu have 32 bit versions but not Ubuntu Desktop or Ubuntu server.

    http://iso.qa.ubuntu.com/qatracker/m...nes/389/builds

    And according to Intel the Xenon E3110 is 64bit

    https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us...3-mhz-fsb.html

    Instruction Set 64-bit
    Regards
    Last edited by grahammechanical; August 2nd, 2020 at 01:01 AM.
    It is a machine. It is more stupid than we are. It will not stop us from doing stupid things.
    Ubuntu user #33,200. Linux user #530,530


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    647

    Re: Not sure if I have x386 cpu

    OK, what is the output of
    Code:
    uname -a
    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    3

    Re: Not sure if I have x386 cpu

    Linux richese 4.15.0-112-generic #113-Ubuntu SMP Thu Jul 9 23:41:06 UTC 2020 i68 6 i686 i686 GNU/Linux

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    11,525
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Not sure if I have x386 cpu

    Yep.
    i686,i386 is 32-bit no longer supported going forward,
    except for a select few applications:
    See
    https://ubuntu.com/blog/statement-on...-and-20-04-lts
    https://discourse.ubuntu.com/t/commu...tibility/12598

    Basically this means there is no upgrade path.
    Any upgrades offered will be crippled.
    So do not take them if offered.
    Were you actually offered an upgrade?

    Your choices are to continue on with 18.04 for the foreseeable future.
    Or figure out the best time to do a fresh install of 20.04 64-bit (amd64 is 64-bit for all cpus; intel and amd)
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •