Thread: installer does not let me use user name "admin"

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

installer does not let me use user name "admin"

i want to have user name "admin" be the system administrator (initially the only user, thus the only user sudo will allow). but the *ubuntu installer, as of a few recent versions, won't let me enter that name. is there a reason why not? my workaround has been to create a different name, such as "adminx" and change its user name and home directory path, later.
    Mask wearer, Social distancer, System Administrator, Programmer, Linux advocate, Command Line user, Ham radio operator (KA9WGN/8, tech), Photographer (hobby), occasional tweetXer

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: installer does not let me use user name "admin"

I don't know why that is. I've never used that for a username before. Maybe it's already used. If that is the case maybe make a user with sudo, login, and adjust that user to be able to login? May be a bad idea. Without knowing why it's blocked you may run into issues.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

My guess would be that the installer is set up to accept a user name for a standard user and "admin" might be blacklisted as a standard user name.

After installation it is possible to use System Settings>Details to add a user and mark that user as either a standard user or administrator user with its own password. It might be possible in this way to set up a generic name for the administrator that can be used by the person tasked as administrator.

Those who have experience maintaining several machines might have better advice on how to setup non-personal user names and passwords that many employees can use while also having a non-personal administrator account to give access to all machines.

Regards.

P.S. I have just seen a man page that makes it clear that "admin" is a group. The user names that have sudo privileges are put in a group called "admin."