Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Computer completely hangs while watching Youtube

Beans

Computer completely hangs while watching Youtube

I am a lifetime Windows user who made the complete shift to Linux last week. Obviously, I am a complete newbie.

I was watching Youtube several times and many times, after watching for around 5 to 7 minutes, my laptop completely hangs. I cannot move the cursor, switch tty or anything. Maybe another important piece of information is that this happens gradually. First the video freezes, but audio is fine. Then I try to pause the clip, exit fullscreen, or attempt anything else, and everything freezes up. Running Firefox on Wayland with VAAPI enabled did not result in an freeze. However, tried on other DE's and Chrome, and got the same result.

I tried reading /var/log/kern.log but could not find anything (mostly just don't know what to look for). Not sure if I'm expected to post the log file, or what information to provide.

I am running Ubuntu 20.04 on Ryzen 2500u, and all packages are up to date.

If anything is wrong in this post, please excuse me and let me know what I can add.
    Thank you.
    Last edited by sakh; July 29th, 2020 at 06:01 PM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: Computer completely hangs while watching Youtube

You don't mention what graphics hardware you have which is probably important for us to be able to help you.

Please show us the output of terminal command
    Code:
    inxi -Fzx
    Please use Code-Tags for terminal output as it makes that output much more easily read and understood, formatting the text as seen in terminal, not as plain text when it is copied and pasted. See my signature below for a How-to

Beans

Thanks for replying. I have the integrated Radeon Vega 8 Graphics.

Code:
    System:    Kernel: 5.4.0-42-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0 Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.18.5 
               Distro: Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (Focal Fossa)